APC Back-UPS 500VA (BE600M1): Our Full Review

Seven standard NEMA outlets, a USB charging port, and a confirmed 6ms transfer time: the BE600M1 packs more into the entry point of APC's Back-UPS lineup than its European BX500MI counterpart.

Our rating
4.1/5
Runtime under real load: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 30%)Runtime3.8Power and outlet versatility: 4.4 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Power4.4Mains-to-battery switch time: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Switch time4.2Control and monitoring software: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Control4.0Build and safety: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Build4.2

How is this rating calculated?

APC Back-UPS 500VA BE600M1 UPS with its NEMA outlets

The essentials

The Back-UPS 500VA (BE600M1) targets a precise need: protecting a router, a Starlink dish, or a small NAS from a power outage or a surge, without trying to run a workstation for long. Its 7 standard NEMA outlets, 5 of them battery-backed, mean typical networking gear plugs straight in with no adapter cable, a real convenience over UPS models built around IEC connectors. Its transfer time, rated at 6ms typical and 10ms maximum, ranks among the fastest confirmed in this class, keeping a router or NAS from ever noticing a brief dip. A single USB port doubles as both a 1.5A phone charger and the data connection for PowerChute software, which can trigger a clean shutdown of a connected PC during an extended outage, though the software remains Windows-only. Runtime stays modest, around 23 minutes at 100W dropping to roughly 3 minutes at full 330W load, enough to ride out a brief outage or shut down cleanly rather than keep working off-grid. Backed by a 3-year warranty and a $75,000 connected-equipment protection policy, the BE600M1 remains a solid, no-fuss pick for protecting network gear on a budget.

Strengths

  • 7 standard NEMA outlets, 5 battery-backed, no adapter cable needed for typical US gear
  • Confirmed transfer time of 6ms typical, 10ms maximum, among the fastest in its class
  • Single USB port doing double duty: 1.5A phone charging and PowerChute data connection
  • 3-year warranty plus a $75,000 connected-equipment protection policy
  • User-replaceable sealed lead-acid battery

Limitations

  • Runtime drops sharply under full load, to roughly 3 minutes at 330W
  • PowerChute software remains Windows-only
  • No display screen, only LED indicators for status
  • 2 of the 7 outlets offer surge protection only, with no battery backup
  • No stated AVR (automatic voltage regulation), unlike some line-interactive rivals
APC Back-UPS 500VA: see the full details and price →

A UPS built around standard NEMA outlets

Protecting a router, a Starlink dish, or a small NAS from an outage or a surge does not call for a bulky UPS. The Back-UPS 500VA (BE600M1) answers that need in a compact tower format, built around standard NEMA outlets that any US wall plug already matches.

600 VA
Apparent power
330 W
Real power
7
NEMA outlets, 5 battery-backed

A runtime that drops fast under load

APC rates the BE600M1 at roughly 23 minutes of runtime at a 100W load, dropping to about 3 minutes at full 330W load. That is a meaningful spread to plan around: a lightly loaded router or small NAS gets a comfortable buffer, while a fuller setup drawing closer to the unit's rated capacity gets only a couple of minutes, enough to trigger a clean shutdown rather than ride out a long outage.

7 NEMA outlets and a dual-purpose USB port

At 600VA and 330W, the BE600M1 comfortably covers a router, a Starlink dish, a small NAS, or a network switch. Of its 7 outlets, 5 are battery-backed and surge protected, while the remaining 2 offer surge protection only, best reserved for less critical gear like a printer or a monitor. Because the outlets are standard NEMA plugs, typical US networking equipment connects directly, with none of the IEC adapter cables that some European-style UPS units require. A single USB port adds 1.5A charging for a phone or tablet, and keeps delivering power whether the unit is running on utility power or on battery.

A confirmed transfer time among the fastest in its class

The BE600M1's transfer time is rated at 6ms typical and 10ms maximum, a genuinely fast figure for a UPS in this price range, and one that holds up well even against pricier line-interactive models with automatic voltage regulation (AVR). In practice, this keeps a router or a NAS from ever noticing a brief utility dip: the switch to battery happens fast enough that connected gear stays online without a reboot. Unlike some line-interactive siblings in the same Back-UPS family, the BE600M1 does not advertise AVR, relying instead on this fast switching to smooth over short disturbances.

One USB port, two jobs

The BE600M1's single USB port does double duty: it charges a phone or tablet at up to 1.5A, and it also serves as the data connection for PowerChute software, which can be installed on a connected computer to monitor the battery and trigger an automatic, graceful shutdown during an extended outage. As with the rest of APC's consumer lineup, PowerChute remains Windows-only; Mac users are left with macOS's own native shutdown-on-power-loss behavior. There is no status display beyond LED indicators, so anyone wanting an at-a-glance charge readout will need to look at a higher tier in the lineup.

A 3-year warranty and real equipment protection

The sealed lead-acid battery is user-replaceable without tools, extending the unit's working life well past its original cell. APC backs the BE600M1 with a 3-year warranty and a $75,000 connected-equipment protection policy, a concrete guarantee that goes beyond the unit itself to cover gear damaged while properly connected to it.

Against the CyberPower CP550SLG and the Tripp Lite INTERNET550U

How does the BE600M1 stack up against other small UPS units built for protecting a router or a NAS?

Technical comparison: APC Back-UPS 500VA (BE600M1) against its main rivals (observed prices, for guidance only)
CriterionAPC BE600M1CyberPower CP550SLGTripp Lite INTERNET550UCyberPower CP600LCD
Power600VA / 330W550VA / 330W550VA / 300W600VA / 340W
Outlets7 (5 battery-backed)8 (4 battery-backed)10 (5 battery-backed)8 (4 battery-backed)
USB chargingYes, 1 portNot statedNot statedNot stated
Status displayLED onlyLED onlyLED onlyLCD panel
Warranty3 years3 years3 years3 years
Observed price$43.84≈ $80≈ $115≈ $88

The BE600M1 undercuts all three rivals on price while still matching or beating them on warranty and adding USB charging that none of them state. The Tripp Lite INTERNET550U pulls ahead on outlet count and adds phone-line protection, and the CyberPower CP600LCD adds a status display, but neither matches the APC's price point for a router or NAS that just needs solid, no-fuss backup power.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.1/5
Runtime under real load 3.8
Power and outlet versatility 4.4
Mains-to-battery switch time 4.2
Control and monitoring software 4.0
Build and safety 4.2
Measurement accuracy not measured
Format compatibility not measured
Display readability not measured
Build not measured
APC Back-UPS 500VA: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

APC Back-UPS 500VA

APC Back-UPS 500VA

See price (7)

Power blip or surge at the campground? This compact APC UPS keeps a router, a Starlink dish or a NAS protected in a van, on a boat or at home.

View product
APC Back-UPS 850VA

APC Back-UPS 850VA

See price (19)

Power outage hitting your home solar setup? The APC Back-UPS 850VA keeps a NAS or home server running just long enough for a clean, safe shutdown.

View product
APC Back-UPS Pro 650VA

APC Back-UPS Pro 650VA

See price (3)

Protecting a NAS wired to your solar setup or a Starlink dish on the road? This APC Back-UPS Pro adds an LCD screen and network surge protection.

View product

Frequently asked questions

No, it uses 7 standard NEMA outlets, the same as any US wall socket, so most routers, modems, and Starlink dishes plug straight in without an adapter.

Around 23 minutes at a 100W load, dropping to roughly 3 minutes at full 330W load. Enough to ride out a brief outage or trigger a clean shutdown, not to keep working off-grid for long.

Yes, its USB port doubles as a data connection for PowerChute, which can monitor the battery and trigger an automatic shutdown of a connected computer. The software remains Windows-only.

Yes, its USB port also delivers up to 1.5A of charging current, and keeps working whether the unit is running on utility power or on battery.

Yes, the sealed lead-acid battery is user-replaceable without tools, extending the unit's working life beyond its original cell, backed by a 3-year warranty.