BigBlue P35: Our Full Review

With 25.4% cell efficiency, the BigBlue P35 posts the best figure in its direct comparison set and jumps to IP68 waterproofing where its own predecessor topped out at IP44. But its three ports can together demand 58W from a panel that only ever produces 35W, with no published priority between them, and real-world output typically drops to 15 to 20W as soon as the sky hazes over or the angle isn't quite right.

Our rating
4.0/5
Efficiency: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Efficiency3.8Portability and size: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Portability4.2Weather resistance: 4.1 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Weatherproofing4.1Output ports: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Output4.0Build and endurance: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build4.0

How is this rating calculated?

Foldable BigBlue P35 solar panel unfolded at an angle on a light background, its cell segments and corner grommets visible

The essentials

The BigBlue P35 delivers real progress over its own predecessor: cell efficiency ahead of every direct rival (25.4%), a jump in waterproofing from IP44 to IP68, and a genuine PD 25W fast-charging port on top of the ports already found on the 28W. On the other side of the ledger, the reserves are real: available output drops to 15 to 20W as soon as the sky hazes over or the angle isn't quite right, the second USB-C port stays capped at 15W with no fast charging, the PD 25W port isn't Apple-compatible, and the combined maximum of the three ports (58W) far exceeds the 35W the panel actually produces, with no published priority between them. For hiking, bikepacking or backup power on an RV trip, paired with a power bank, it remains a solid pick and one of the lightest in its power class.

Strengths

  • Cell efficiency of 25.4%, the best in a direct comparison with the BigBlue 28W (≈24%), the Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini (≈23%) and the Choetech SC006 (≈20%)
  • IP68 rating on the panel and cells, against IP44 on its own predecessor and vague wording from both direct rivals
  • Dual parallel circuit: the unshaded part keeps producing when part of the panel falls into shade
  • 1.54 lb (0.7 kg) for a folded size barely bigger than a paperback (8.3 x 4.8 x 1.9 in), roughly 70% lighter than the Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini
  • USB-C PD 25W port with PPS, the most powerful of the three panels compared, with two carabiners and an elastic strap included

Limitations

  • Available output typically drops to 15 to 20W under a hazy sky or with an imperfect angle, against the advertised 35W
  • Second USB-C port capped at 5V/3A (15W), with no Power Delivery or PPS, well short of the first port's 25W
  • The USB-C PD 25W port, the fastest of the three, is not compatible with Apple devices according to the manufacturer
  • The combined maximum of the three ports (58W) far exceeds the 35W the panel actually produces, with no published priority between them for simultaneous use
  • The IP68 rating does not cover the USB junction box, which needs to stay protected from rain
  • No independent corroboration of the waterproofing or hinge durability has been found to date for this recent model
BigBlue P35: see the full details and price →

The Rated 35W Versus What You Actually Get

Like any solar panel, the 35W rating printed on the BigBlue P35 corresponds to a standardized figure (1000 W/m² of sunlight, 77 °F (25 °C) cell temperature, standard light spectrum), a useful yardstick for comparing panels but one that is never actually met outdoors. The manufacturer's own documentation notes that the gap between rated and real output mostly comes down to heat building up in the cells under direct sun, on top of the angle of incidence and cloud cover.

Under a hazy sky or with an imperfect angle, available output typically drops to 15 to 20W, against the advertised 35W. That gap is nothing unusual for this class of panel: the BigBlue 28W, the P35's own smaller sibling in the catalogue, comes out at just 10.5W in full midday sun against its own 28W rating in the review published on this site, or 37.5% of its rated output, the weakest ratio in a four-panel comparison. The P35 starts with a real structural edge here: its cells reach 25.4% efficiency, the best figure in a direct comparison with its own predecessor (≈24%), the Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini (≈23%) and the Choetech SC006 (≈20%), which mechanically limits how much energy gets lost as heat for the same cell area.

The panel adds a second useful mechanism: a dual parallel circuit rather than cells wired in series. In practice, if part of the panel falls into shade (a branch, a bag left on top, a stray cloud), the rest keeps producing instead of the whole panel's output collapsing, a common weakness of series-wired panels.

35 W
Rated output (standardized conditions)
25.4 %
Cell efficiency, the best in this comparison
15 to 20 W
Available output under a hazy sky or poor angle
Cell efficiency of the BigBlue P35 compared with three foldable panels of similar powerBigBlue P3525.4 %BigBlue 28W≈24 %SolarSaga 40W Mini≈23 %Choetech SC006≈20 %
Cell efficiency as rated by each manufacturer, expressed as the percentage of light converted into electricity.

Weight and Folded Size

The BigBlue P35 weighs a rated 1.54 lb (0.7 kg) and folds down to 8.3 x 4.8 x 1.9 in (21 x 12.3 x 4.8 cm), barely bigger than a paperback. Unfolded, it spans 23.7 x 16.5 in (60.3 x 42 cm). A built-in carry handle, two carabiners and an elastic strap are included, letting you clip it straight onto a backpack or a tent without buying anything extra.

Within its own catalogue, the weight sits in the same ballpark as the BigBlue 28W (1.5 lb / 0.68 kg), despite that panel being less powerful and far less weatherproof: the P35's few extra grams buy 7W of extra power, an additional fast-charging port and a major jump in waterproofing (more on that below). Against panels of directly comparable power, the gap widens: the Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini weighs about 2.6 lb (1.2 kg) and the Choetech SC006 about 3.4 lb (1.55 kg), roughly 70% and more than double the P35's weight respectively, for a similar rated output.

1.54 lb
Rated weight (0.7 kg)
8.3x4.8x1.9 in
Folded size (21x12.3x4.8 cm)
23.7x16.5 in
Unfolded size (60.3x42 cm)
Rated weight of the BigBlue P35 compared with three foldable panels of similar power (28 to 40 W)BigBlue P351.54 lbBigBlue 28W1.5 lbSolarSaga 40W Mini≈2.6 lbChoetech SC006≈3.4 lb
Rated weight of the P35 against its own predecessor and two direct rivals of comparable power, in pounds (1.54, 1.5, about 2.6 and about 3.4 lb respectively; 0.7, 0.68, about 1.2 and about 1.55 kg in the source spec sheets).

Three Ports, Only One Genuinely Fast

The P35 splits its output across three ports: a USB-A port with Quick Charge at 18W, a first USB-C port with 25W Power Delivery and PPS (Programmable Power Supply, which adjusts voltage and current for a faster, safer charge), and a second USB-C port capped at 5V/3A, or 15W at best, with no PD or PPS. Of the three ports, only one actually benefits from a fast-charging protocol: the second USB-C port remains a secondary output for a lower-priority device.

Worth knowing before buying, confirmed by the manufacturer itself: the first USB-C port (PD 25W) is not compatible with Apple devices. For an iPhone or iPad, you need the USB-A port or the second USB-C port, both slower.

One simple calculation, absent from the marketing material, is worth doing: the three ports add up to 58W (18+25+15), well beyond the 35W the panel actually produces at best. Plugging in three demanding devices at once necessarily means sharing less power than the sum of their individual maximums, with no priority order between the ports published by BigBlue.

18 W
USB-A, Quick Charge
25 W
USB-C #1, PD and PPS
15 W
USB-C #2, no PD or PPS
58 W
Combined maximum of the three ports, against 35W actually produced

IP68 on the Panel, Not on the USB Box

The P35 carries an IP68 rating, the highest in its own direct comparison set: well ahead of the IP44 on its predecessor, the BigBlue 28W, and ahead of the vague wording ("weather-resistant", "water-resistant") used by the Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini and the Choetech SC006. The manufacturer's own documentation adds an important caveat, though: this IP68 rating covers the fabric and the cells, not the USB junction box, which needs to stay covered in the rain.

No independent corroboration of this IP68 rating in the rain has been found to date for this specific model, a common gap for a recently updated addition to the brand's lineup. The manufacturer also describes a reinforced grommet point built around a fiberglass core, designed to resist cracking and corrosion through repeated folding: a build detail claimed by the brand, but not independently verified.

IP68
Rated protection, panel and cells
IP44
Rating of its own predecessor, the BigBlue 28W

Against Its Own Predecessor, the BigBlue 28W

The P35 directly succeeds the BigBlue 28W in the brand's lineup, with higher rated power and a major jump in waterproofing. The table below lists the most significant differences between the two generations.

The BigBlue P35 against its own predecessor, the BigBlue 28W
CriterionBigBlue 28WBigBlue P35
Rated power28 W35 W
Cell efficiency≈24 % (SunPower)25.4 %
Fast portNone (2 USB-C + 1 USB-A, 5V/4.8A combined)USB-C PD 25 W with PPS
WaterproofingIP44 (fabric only)IP68 (fabric and cells)
Rated weight1.5 lb (0.68 kg)1.54 lb (0.7 kg)
Warranty2 years2 years

The review published on this site for the BigBlue 28W puts its real-world output at 10 to 14W in full sun, or 37.5% of rated power in the best of the compared cases, the weakest ratio in a four-panel comparison. The P35 does not automatically inherit a better ratio just from having more efficient cells: the same physics that degrades outdoor output (heat, angle, cloud cover) affects both products. Higher cell efficiency (25.4% against ≈24%) and a dual parallel circuit design, absent on the 28W, still work in its favor on this specific front.

Against the Direct Competition at 35 to 40W

Against two direct rivals of similar power already mentioned, the P35 stands out with the best cell efficiency and the best waterproofing of the three, while staying one of the lightest.

The BigBlue P35 against two direct rivals of comparable power
CriterionBigBlue P35Jackery SolarSaga 40W MiniChoetech SC006
Power35 W40 W36 W
Cell efficiency25.4 %≈23 %≈20 %
Ports2 USB-C (incl. PD 25 W) + USB-A 18 WUSB-A + USB-CUSB-C PD 20 W + USB-A 18 W
WaterproofingIP68Weather-resistant (rating not specified)Water-resistant (rating not specified)
Weight1.54 lb (0.7 kg)≈2.6 lb (1.2 kg)≈3.4 lb (1.55 kg)

The SolarSaga 40W Mini narrowly wins on raw power (40W against 35W), a 5W gap that does not make up, in practice, for a weight almost 70% higher and lower cell efficiency. The Choetech SC006 offers a respectable USB-C PD 20W port, but remains the heaviest of the three and posts the lowest cell efficiency in the comparison, with no rated waterproofing figure. Neither rival publishes a formal IP rating comparable to the P35's IP68.

Build Quality, Warranty and Brand Track Record

BigBlue has sold nomad solar chargers for several years, and the 28W remains an established reference in its own lineup, with a solid track record in this site's own catalogue: the review published for that model notes no product recall, with only two isolated failure cases after roughly 3 years of heavy use. The P35 carries over the same 2-year manufacturer warranty.

No recall has been found for the P35 to date, a model that is still recent in the brand's lineup, which naturally limits the track record available compared with a product sold for longer, like the 28W. The fiberglass-reinforced grommet point (see above) is the only build upgrade the manufacturer highlights beyond waterproofing and power.

2 years
Manufacturer warranty

Who the P35 Is Really For

The P35 targets hiking, bikepacking and light RV travel first and foremost: a panel you can slip into a pack pocket without a second thought, capable of recharging a phone or a power bank during the day. With no built-in battery, it must be paired with a power bank to actually use that energy once the sun goes down, like any nomad panel of this format.

For anyone mainly looking to recharge an iPhone on the fastest port, the picture is more mixed: that specific port (USB-C PD 25W) is not Apple-compatible, leaving only the USB-A port or the second USB-C port, both slower. Anyone chasing raw power over weight should still consider the Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini, at the cost of a noticeably heavier panel. And for a stationary setup in an RV or van, where total available power matters more than weight, a 100 to 200W panel is a better fit than a lightweight companion panel like the P35.

Price and Availability

In the US, the BigBlue P35 sells for around $89.99 at the time of writing, available through the partner retailer linked on the product page. That's roughly $30 more than the BigBlue 28W ($59.97), for 7W of extra rated power, an additional fast-charging port and a major jump in waterproofing.

Against the two direct rivals already mentioned, the P35's positioning stands up well: it trades a somewhat higher price than the cheapest option in its class for a clear edge in cell efficiency and waterproofing.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.0/5
Efficiency 3.8
Portability and size 4.2
Weather resistance 4.1
Output ports 4.0
Capacity and expansion not measured
Solar input and MPPT not measured
Control and smart features not measured
Installation and compliance not measured
Build and endurance 4.0
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections not measured
BigBlue P35: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

BigBlue P35

BigBlue P35

See price (22)

An ultralight 1.54 lb (0.7 kg) foldable solar panel that charges fast with PD 25W and a dual parallel circuit, even when part of it sits in the shade.

View product
BigBlue 28W

BigBlue 28W

See price (48)

A panel that folds into your pack and charges three devices at once in the sun: high-efficiency cells, three USB ports, and real weather resistance.

View product
Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

$126.22 (5)

The smallest SolarSaga: 40 W in a 2.6 lb (1.2 kg) foldable panel that slips into a backpack to feed a compact station at camp.

View product
Jackery SolarSaga 100W

Jackery SolarSaga 100W

$215.29 (4)

100W of solar power in a light, foldable panel with kickstands and USB outputs: enough to recharge a Jackery station or your devices straight from the sun.

View product

Frequently asked questions

Rarely on a continuous basis. Under a hazy sky or with an imperfect angle, available output typically drops to 15 to 20W, a common gap for this type of panel tied to cell heat, angle of incidence and cloud cover.

Yes, through the USB-A port (18W) and the second USB-C port (15W), but not through the first USB-C PD 25W port, which the manufacturer confirms is not compatible with Apple devices.

The panel is IP68-rated on the fabric and cells, but that rating does not cover the USB junction box, which needs to stay protected in the rain.

The three ports add up to 58W on their own (18+25+15), well beyond the 35W the panel actually produces: plugging in all three at once means sharing less power than the sum of their individual maximums.

The P35 delivers 35W against 28W, with higher cell efficiency (25.4% against ≈24%), a PD 25W port the 28W lacks, and IP68 waterproofing against IP44. Weight stays nearly identical (1.54 lb against 1.5 lb).

No. Like any nomad solar panel of this format, it does not store energy: pair it with a power bank to use that power once the sun goes down.