EcoFlow 160W Solar Panel: Our Full Review

At an announced 8.4 lb (3.8 kg) and built around the bifacial design EcoFlow uses across its lineup, the 160W solar panel (sold here as the NextGen 160W) aims for a balance between output and portability in a range that spans 45 to 400 W. Its already-attached XT60 cable plugs straight into River and Delta series stations, but two points are worth clarifying before buying: what the "up to 25%" bifacial claim actually covers, and a product name that spans more than one version depending on the market and the generation.

Our rating
4.0/5
Efficiency: 3.9 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Efficiency3.9Portability and size: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Portability4.0Weather resistance: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Weatherproofing4.2Output ports: 3.7 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Output3.7Build and endurance: 4.1 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build4.1

How is this rating calculated?

Folded EcoFlow 160W portable solar panel seen from the front, with its carry handle and side hinges visible against a light background

The essentials

The EcoFlow 160W solar panel, sold in the US as the NextGen 160W, delivers real simplicity for anyone who already owns a station from the brand: an already-attached XT60 cable, a folding built-in stand, IP68, and a 5-year warranty, the longest in this comparison alongside the Anker Solix PS200. The "up to 25%" bifacial gain that EcoFlow highlights remains a ceiling reached on light or reflective ground, rarely hit on the grass or dirt of an ordinary campsite. Two real drawbacks round out the picture: no USB output for charging a small device directly, and a product name that covers both the current bifacial version and an earlier, less capable generation, worth telling apart when reading other reviews. At an announced 8.4 lb (3.8 kg) for 160 W, it sits comfortably between the 110W and 220W in the same lineup, without being either the lightest or the most versatile panel in its class.

Strengths

  • XT60 cable already built in, plugging straight into EcoFlow's River and Delta series stations with no extra adapter to buy
  • IP68 rating, matching the best in this comparison (Jackery SolarSaga 100W, BigBlue P35)
  • 5-year manufacturer warranty, as long as the Anker Solix PS200's, the longest in this segment
  • Announced weight of 8.4 lb (3.8 kg) for 160 W, a figure that fits neatly into EcoFlow's own lineup (7.3 lb / 3.3 kg for the 110W, 11.2 lb / 5.1 kg for the 220W)
  • N-type cells, a chemistry that generally holds up better under heat than the P-type cells common on entry-level portable panels
  • Folds into three panels for a footprint close to a large binder, with a built-in carry handle

Limitations

  • No USB output at all: charging a phone or a small power bank directly requires an intermediate station
  • The "up to 25%" bifacial gain is a ceiling reached on light or reflective ground (sand, snow, concrete); on grass or dirt, the most common camping surface, the real gain usually comes down to a few percentage points
  • The XT60 output needs an adapter cable for any station outside the EcoFlow brand
  • The announced 8.4 lb (3.8 kg) weight has not been cross-checked against an independent weigh-in to date
  • A product name ("NextGen 160W" here in the US, sometimes just "160W" or "160W Light" elsewhere) that also covers an earlier, less capable version, which muddies a chunk of what turns up online
  • No independent figure for the actual peak power delivered by this current generation has turned up so far
EcoFlow NextGen 160W Solar Panel: see the full details and price →

Weight: the first argument for a portable panel

The EcoFlow 160W solar panel, sold in the US as the NextGen 160W, lists an announced weight of 8.4 lb (3.8 kg), with unfolded dimensions of 66.0 x 23.5 in (167.7 x 59.8 cm) and a thickness of 1.0 in (2.6 cm). Folded down into three panels, it packs into a 24.0 x 23.5 in (60.9 x 59.8 cm) footprint, roughly the size of a large binder, with a built-in carry handle. That weight fits a fairly linear progression across EcoFlow's own lineup: the 110W panel weighs 7.3 lb (3.3 kg), the 220W comes in at 11.2 lb (5.1 kg), and the 400W reaches 22.5 lb (10.2 kg).

8.4 lb
Announced weight (3.8 kg)
66.0 in
Unfolded length (167.7 cm)
3 panels
Folds for transport
Announced weight of the four bifacial solar panels in EcoFlow's lineupEcoFlow 110W7.3 lb (3.3 kg)EcoFlow 160W8.4 lb (3.8 kg)EcoFlow 220W11.2 lb (5.1 kg)EcoFlow 400W22.5 lb (10.2 kg)
Announced weight of the 160W compared with the three other foldable bifacial panels in EcoFlow's lineup.

Against other portable panels already reviewed on this site, the 160W sits toward the lighter end: the Jackery SolarSaga 100W weighs 7.9 lb (3.6 kg) for only 100 W, the Goal Zero Nomad 100 climbs to 10.1 lb (4.6 kg) for the same output, and the Anker Solix PS200 (10.6 lb / 4.8 kg) remains the lightest relative to its 200 W. Scaled to 100 W of rated output, the EcoFlow 160W works out to roughly 5.3 lb (2.4 kg), very close to the PS200's figure and well below the SolarSaga's or the Nomad 100's. One reservation worth keeping in mind: this weight figure comes from the spec sheet and has not been cross-checked against an independent weigh-in to date.

Bifacial output: what "up to 25%" really covers

EcoFlow advertises "up to 25% output" for this panel, a phrase worth unpacking: it is not the conversion efficiency of the cells themselves (the share of sunlight turned into electricity), but the production gain the bifacial rear face adds over a monofacial panel of the same rated output. The cells themselves are listed as N-type, a chemistry that tends to hold up better as temperature climbs than the P-type cells more common on entry-level portable panels, which in theory limits the output drop on a hot, sunny day.

160 W
Rated output
25 % max
Bifacial gain on reflective ground
21.4 V
Open-circuit voltage (Voc)

The real bifacial gain depends almost entirely on what the panel sits on. On highly reflective ground (albedo), light sand, fresh snow, or concrete, the rear face can genuinely recover a meaningful share of reflected light. On grass or dark soil, the most common surface while camping, albedo typically sits around 0.20, and the resulting bifacial gain usually comes in under 10%, well short of the 25% ceiling the manufacturer highlights. That is not a flaw specific to this panel: it is a physical limit shared by bifacial technology in general, rarely spelled out on the box.

On the electrical side, the spec sheet lists an open-circuit voltage (Voc) of 21.4 V, a short-circuit current (Isc) of 9.2 A, an optimal voltage (Vmp) of 18.8 V, and an optimal current (Imp) of 8.7 A. These are standardized figures from a fixed test condition (1000 W/m² of irradiance and a reference cell temperature), never quite matched outdoors: angle of incidence, cloud cover, and the panel heating up in direct sun all pull real-world output down. No independent figure for the peak power actually delivered by this current generation has turned up so far, which rules out putting a precise number on the gap between the rated 160 W and real-world output.

One product name, two very different versions

Before searching for other reviews of this product, one thing is worth knowing: this panel's name has covered two distinctly different products over time, and it goes by more than one label depending on where you look. In the US, EcoFlow markets the current bifacial version as the NextGen 160W. An earlier version, still turning up in some listings, has no built-in stand at all (the carry bag doubles as a makeshift prop), claims roughly 21 to 22% efficiency, and generally weighs around 15.4 lb (7 kg). The current NextGen version, the one this review covers, includes a folding metal stand, claims up to 25% bifacial gain, and lists an announced weight of 8.4 lb (3.8 kg).

The two versions sold under the EcoFlow 160W name
FeatureEarlier versionCurrent NextGen version
StandNone, carry bag used as a propBuilt-in folding stand
Claimed efficiencyAround 21 to 22%Up to 25% (bifacial gain)
Rear faceNot bifacialBifacial
Announced weightAround 15.4 lb (7 kg)8.4 lb (3.8 kg)
Water resistanceIP65IP68
Worth knowing: searching for reviews of the "EcoFlow 160W solar panel" (the name used outside the US) or the "NextGen 160W" turns up a mix of results, and a chunk of them cover this earlier version rather than the current bifacial one. The built-in folding stand and the announced weight (8.4 lb / 3.8 kg) are the most reliable ways to tell the two apart.

Outside the US, this same current version is typically sold simply as "160W" or "160W Light" rather than NextGen. The published specifications (bifacial design, adjustable stand, IP68, 5-year warranty) line up across markets, which points to one and the same product marketed under a different name here in the US rather than to two distinct generations.

IP68: weatherproofing on par with the best in class

The panel carries an IP68 rating, the best water and dust protection in this comparison, matching the Jackery SolarSaga 100W and the BigBlue P35, and a clear step up from the earlier version of this same EcoFlow panel, which tops out at IP65. That rating means the panel can stay outside through a rain shower without needing to be rushed indoors.

IP68
Announced water and dust protection
5 years
Manufacturer warranty

No hinge or connector failure is known to affect this current generation. Folding into three panels, versus two for the Anker Solix PS200, for instance, slightly increases the number of seams and hinges exposed to moisture and dust compared with a simpler fold, a point that remains theoretical given how little long-term history exists so far for this newer version.

Output ports: built-in XT60, but no USB

The XT60 cable comes already attached to the panel, a genuinely useful touch: nothing to look for or plug in separately to connect the panel to an EcoFlow River or Delta series station. It is the native connector across EcoFlow's own ecosystem, working without an adapter with nearly every generator the brand sells.

XT60
Built-in output connector
0
USB outputs available

The tradeoff is a real limitation: the panel has no USB-A or USB-C output at all. There is no way to charge a phone or a small power bank directly without routing through a station or a charge controller, unlike the Jackery SolarSaga 100W, which adds USB-A and USB-C ports alongside its main output. Connecting this panel to a generator or controller from another brand calls for an XT60 adapter cable to whatever connector it expects (MC4, Anderson, or another proprietary standard): XT60 is common across the portable power station world but does not have the near-universal reach of MC4, which is more widespread on fixed solar installations and on a share of competing portable panels.

Build and warranty: 5 years, the longest here

EcoFlow backs this panel with a 5-year manufacturer warranty, the longest in this comparison, tied with the Anker Solix PS200 and well ahead of the Jackery SolarSaga 100W's 3 years or the BigBlue P35's 2 years.

Manufacturer warranty compared across four portable solar panelsEcoFlow 160W5 yearsAnker Solix PS2005 yearsJackery SolarSaga 100W3 yearsBigBlue P352 years
Manufacturer warranty for the EcoFlow 160W compared with three other portable panels in this comparison.

No recurring manufacturing defect or recall is known to affect this current generation of the panel, which is newer to market than the earlier version described above (no built-in stand, IP65, a lower claimed efficiency figure). Independent history on this current version naturally remains thinner than on a product that has been sold for several years, an honest caveat rather than a proven flaw.

Against other panels of similar output

Against other portable panels of similar output already reviewed on this site, the 160W occupies a middle ground: more powerful than a typical 100W panel, less bulky than a 200W one, with a connector set aimed squarely at its own ecosystem.

The EcoFlow 160W against three portable panels of similar output
CriterionEcoFlow 160WJackery SolarSaga 100WGoal Zero Nomad 100Anker Solix PS200
Rated output160 W100 W100 W200 W
Announced weight8.4 lb (3.8 kg)7.9 lb (3.6 kg)10.1 lb (4.6 kg)10.6 lb (4.8 kg)
Water resistanceIP68IP68Not specifiedIP68
USB outputNoYes (USB-A and USB-C)NoNo
Warranty5 years3 yearsNot specified5 years

The Jackery SolarSaga 100W remains the more versatile of the three for light nomadic use thanks to its built-in USB ports, but it delivers 60 W less at peak. The Goal Zero Nomad 100 leans on the closed Yeti ecosystem, yet its real-world output typically lands between 50 and 80 W out of a rated 100 W, a gap Goal Zero does not disclose at the point of sale. The Anker Solix PS200 goes further on output with a more universal MC4 connector, but costs more. The EcoFlow 160W stands out for its already-attached cable and 5-year warranty, at the cost of a more closed connector setup.

Who this panel is for

The EcoFlow 160W is aimed first at anyone who already owns, or is considering, a compact to mid-size station from the brand (River or Delta series): the already-attached XT60 cable removes any need to hunt for an adapter, and the rated 160 W is enough to recharge that kind of station in a few hours of good sun. Folded down to roughly the size of a large binder, it slots easily into a camper van build or an RV's storage.

Anyone who wants to charge a phone or a small power bank directly without carrying a station is better served by a more modest panel with USB ports, such as the SolarSaga 100W. Anyone with a larger station who wants to recharge it as fast as possible should look toward the 220W in the same lineup, or toward two panels wired in parallel. And anyone running a station from another brand will need an adapter cable, since XT60 is not the most widespread standard outside EcoFlow's own ecosystem.

Price and where it sits in EcoFlow's lineup

EcoFlow lists the NextGen 160W at $449 direct from its own US store, though it is frequently discounted, with various listings and retailers pricing it closer to $200 to $220 at different points in time. It sits between the 110W, cheaper and lighter, and the 220W, pricier and more powerful, a coherent lineup that lets buyers match output to whichever station they own without switching technology or cable ecosystems.

The 160W within EcoFlow's lineup of foldable bifacial panels
ModelOutputAnnounced weight
EcoFlow 110W110 W7.3 lb (3.3 kg)
EcoFlow 160W160 W8.4 lb (3.8 kg)
EcoFlow 220W220 W11.2 lb (5.1 kg)

Before buying, checking the product page for the built-in folding stand and the announced weight (8.4 lb / 3.8 kg) helps avoid confusing this panel with its earlier version, still listed on some marketplaces at a sometimes similar price.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.0/5
Efficiency 3.9
Portability and size 4.0
Weather resistance 4.2
Output ports 3.7
Capacity and expansion not measured
Solar input and MPPT not measured
Control and smart features not measured
Installation and compliance not measured
Build and endurance 4.1
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections not measured
EcoFlow NextGen 160W Solar Panel: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

EcoFlow NextGen 160W Solar Panel

EcoFlow NextGen 160W Solar Panel

$449.00

EcoFlow's light, versatile solar companion: bifacial design up to 25% conversion, a built-in XT60 cable, adjustable 30° to 60° stand and IP68 protection.

View product
EcoFlow 110W solar panel

EcoFlow 110W solar panel

$201.75 (9)

The compact, clever portable panel: bifacial design up to 25% efficiency, built-in XT60 cable, adjustable 30 to 60° stand and IP68 protection for every trip.

View product
EcoFlow 220W solar panel

EcoFlow 220W solar panel

See price (10)

A bifacial panel that catches the sun on both sides: up to 25% efficiency, built-in XT60 cable, adjustable 30 to 60° stand and IP68 protection for every trip.

View product
Jackery SolarSaga 100W

Jackery SolarSaga 100W

$215.29 (4)

100W of solar power in a light, foldable panel with kickstands and USB outputs: enough to recharge a Jackery station or your devices straight from the sun.

View product

Frequently asked questions

Like any solar panel, the 160 W figure is a standardized rating, rarely matched outdoors as is. No independent figure for this version's actual peak output has turned up so far to pin down the exact gap.

It refers to the extra output the bifacial rear face adds over a monofacial panel of the same rating, not the conversion efficiency of the cells. That gain depends heavily on the ground under the panel: modest on grass or dirt, more noticeable on light sand, snow, or concrete.

No. The panel has no USB output at all, only an XT60 output meant for an EcoFlow station or, with an adapter cable, another generator or charge controller.

It carries an IP68 rating, the best water and dust protection in this comparison, which allows it to stay outside through a rain shower.

Yes. An earlier version with no built-in stand and a claimed efficiency of around 21 to 22% is still around, alongside the current NextGen 160W covered in this review, which weighs an announced 8.4 lb (3.8 kg), includes a folding stand, and claims up to 25% bifacial gain.

Its 160 W suits compact to mid-size EcoFlow River and Delta series stations well, via the already-attached XT60 cable. For a larger station, the 220W in the same lineup or two panels wired in parallel work better.