Fossibot FAC580: our full review of this alternator charger

Fossibot claims 580W on the move for $199, but this alternator charger does not recharge a service battery the way its rivals do: it feeds a power station's solar input at 45 to 80V, with no charge profile tailored to any particular battery chemistry.

Our rating
3.6/5
Safety and protections: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Safety4.0Build and endurance: 3.3 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build3.3Actual charging current: 4.1 out of 5 (weighting 35%)Charging4.1Battery compatibility: 3.4 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Compatibility3.4Control and programming: 2.7 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Control2.7

How is this rating calculated?

Fossibot FAC580 alternator charger seen from a three-quarter angle, ribbed black casing with the Fossibot logo and input cable port visible

The essentials

The Fossibot FAC580 promises 580W genuinely stated by the manufacturer on both its US and European official stores, at a price well below the references of this segment. But comparing it directly to the CTEK D250SE or the Renogy DCC50S would be misleading: it does not charge a lead-acid or lithium service battery with a dedicated profile, it feeds a power station's solar input at 45 to 80V, and that station manages its own internal chemistry. Its claimed compatibility with 99% of third-party power stations is not backed by any independent measurement, its interface is limited to a fault light with no positive confirmation that charging is under way, and its stated standby draw weighs noticeably more on the starter battery than the CTEK's if the unit stays wired permanently. For anyone who already owns a compatible power station and wants to top it up quickly and cheaply while driving, the case still holds up; for anyone after a genuine multi-chemistry DC-DC charger for a hardwired service battery, this is not the right product.

Strengths

  • 580W maximum output stated by Fossibot on both its US and European official stores, well above the roughly 96W of a cigarette-lighter outlet and above the other chargers in this comparison
  • 92% conversion efficiency, in the upper range for this segment of alternator chargers
  • Works on both 12V and 24V electrical systems, with no manual setting for the installer to make
  • Built-in reverse-polarity protection, something the CTEK D250SE, the reference of this segment, does not claim for itself
  • Noticeably cheaper than the four references in this comparison ($199 versus roughly $187 to $496) for an equal or higher claimed output
  • Very compact and light (1.8 lb / 0.8 kg), barely bulkier than an external hard-drive enclosure

Limitations

  • No charge profile tailored to any specific battery chemistry: the FAC580 outputs a fixed 45 to 80V toward a power station's solar input, which manages its own internal chemistry, unlike the CTEK D250SE, the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 or the Victron Orion-Tr Smart, each of which applies a dedicated profile to a hardwired service battery
  • The claimed compatibility with 99% of third-party power stations remains a manufacturer figure that no independent measurement confirms so far
  • No screen and no app, not even as an option: the only feedback is a light that switches on solely to signal a voltage or temperature fault, with no positive indication that normal charging is happening
  • No IP rating is published anywhere, even though the unit is meant to be bolted to the bodywork, exposed to spray and vibration; the CTEK D250SE, on this same point, states a full IP65 rating
  • Stated standby draw of under 3W, which works out to roughly 180 Ah a month on a 12V system if the unit stays wired permanently, far above the under 1 Ah a month claimed by the CTEK D250SE
  • No fuse or fuse holder is included in the box despite a 16.4 ft (5 m) input cable that runs straight to the starter battery: one has to be added separately
Fossibot FAC580: see the full details and price →

A 1.8-pound booster, not a classic battery charger

The Fossibot FAC580 is a DC-DC charger built to recharge a power station while driving, by drawing on the spare capacity of the vehicle's alternator. Priced at $199, it claims up to 580W of output, roughly six times a standard cigarette-lighter outlet, at a stated conversion efficiency of 92%. It works on both 12V and 24V electrical systems, and stands out for a very compact footprint: 7.2 x 6.4 x 1.9 in (182 x 162 x 47 mm) for 1.8 lb (0.8 kg).

580 W
Maximum output power
92 %
Stated conversion efficiency
1.8 lb
Weight of the unit alone (0.8 kg)

Its real quirk lies in its architecture. Where a classic alternator charger outputs 12V or 24V to recharge a lead-acid or lithium service battery directly, the FAC580 delivers a fixed 45 to 80V, meant for the solar input (MC4 connector) of a power station. In other words, it does not really charge a battery at all: it feeds the power station's own solar charge controller, which then manages the actual charging of its internal battery. That distinction, missing from most product listings, shapes everything that follows in this review.

What the claimed 580W are really worth

Fossibot documents two power tiers, driven purely by the voltage measured at the input rather than any genuine engine-speed sensor. The manufacturer labels them as two "modes" (engine running / engine off), though the exact thresholds differ slightly depending on which of its own official stores states them:

Fossibot FAC580 power tiers by input voltage (Fossibot's US and European official stores)
Fossibot's framingInput voltageMax. output power
Engine running13.2 to 14V300W
Engine runningabove 14V580W
Engine off12 to 12.75V300W
Engine offabove 12.75V580W

Either way, the underlying logic is the same: below roughly 13V, output is capped at 300W; above that, it climbs to 580W. Most alternators hold above 14V from idle onward, which should let the FAC580 reach its full claimed output without needing a high engine speed, but that behavior rests on the manufacturer's own documentation: no independent measurement confirms it so far.

Fossibot FAC580 output power compared with a standard cigarette-lighter outlet: roughly 96W for the lighter outlet, 300W at the FAC580's reduced tier, 580W at full power96W300W580WCigarette-lighter outletFAC580, reduced tierFAC580, full power
FAC580 output power by input voltage, compared with the 96W benchmark Fossibot itself uses for a standard cigarette-lighter outlet. Manufacturer figures, with no independent measurement available so far.

Below 12V, the FAC580 automatically cuts its output to protect the starter battery from excessive discharge. On the input side, it accepts up to 45A, for an output capped at 15A across 45 to 80V. Against the other chargers in this comparison, the 580W figure exceeds the rated current of the CTEK D250SE (20A) and the Victron Orion-Tr Smart Isolated (30A) once put on a common voltage footing, and sits in the same range as the Renogy DCC50S, rated at 500W. None of these figures, the FAC580 included, has been cross-checked by any measurement independent of the manufacturer: this segment of alternator chargers remains, as a whole, thinly covered by outside testing.

Compatible with 99% of third-party power stations, but no chemistry-specific charge profile

Fossibot claims compatibility with its own full lineup (the F800, F1200, F2400, F3600 Pro and F7200 are explicitly named on its official stores) as well as with "99% of third-party power stations" fitted with an MC4 solar input that accepts 45V or more. That is a broad marketing figure that no independent measurement confirms so far: in practice it depends on the solar input range of each third-party station, which varies from one manufacturer to another and which buyers need to check for themselves before purchase.

Worth knowing: Fossibot's marketing material mentions compatibility with "AGM, Gel, LiFePO4 and NMC/NCA" battery packs. That refers to the chemistry of the battery housed INSIDE the target power station, not to a charge profile the FAC580 applies itself: the unit offers no chemistry setting or selector of its own.

That is the biggest difference with the other three alternator chargers in this comparison. The CTEK D250SE manages six distinct lead-acid profiles (WET, EFB, Ca/Ca, MF, AGM, GEL) plus a dedicated lithium LiFePO4 profile at 14.2V; the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 distinguishes lead-acid (AGM, Gel, flooded) from lithium LiFePO4 with a fine adjustment range; the Victron Orion-Tr Smart likewise applies charge profiles specific to the connected service battery. The FAC580 never charges a service battery directly: it outputs a fixed 45 to 80V toward a power station's solar input, and that station applies its own charging algorithm to its own internal battery. "Chemistry compatibility" on the FAC580 therefore comes down to a matter of voltage and connector, not a charge curve.

On the input side, the FAC580 accepts both a 12V (12 to 18V) and a 24V (24 to 33V) electrical system, with no manual setting required: a genuine point in common with the other products in this comparison, all of which handle 12V and 24V.

No screen, no app: a switch and a fault light

The FAC580's interface is limited to an on/off switch and a single indicator light. According to the manufacturer's documentation, that light only comes on to flag a fault: it flashes red once a second for an input under-voltage or over-voltage event, together with a buzzer, and turns solid red once the temperature drops below -4 °F (-20 °C). Nothing indicates a normal charge in progress: the only way to know whether the FAC580 is actually recharging the power station is to look at that station's own display.

Worth knowing: unlike the CTEK D250SE (a three-position selector cable and two lights covering five operating states), the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 (BT-2 Bluetooth module included in the pack) and the Victron Orion-Tr Smart (built-in Bluetooth and the VictronConnect app), the FAC580 offers no setting, no Bluetooth and no app, not even as an option.

That simplicity has an upside: there is strictly nothing to configure at installation, so no risk of picking the wrong profile the way a manual selector charger allows. But for anyone wanting to monitor charging remotely, check a history, or get an alert, the FAC580 is the least equipped of the five products in this comparison.

A comprehensive protection list, but no fuse included

The FAC580 claims a broad set of protections: short-circuit, overcurrent, overheating, over-voltage, under-voltage and reverse polarity. On that last point, it stands apart from the CTEK D250SE, which explicitly states it is not protected against reverse polarity at the point of connection: a real advantage for the FAC580 if that protection works as claimed.

-4 to 140 °F
Operating temperature range (-20 to 60 °C)
< 3 W
Standby draw
12 V
Automatic cutoff threshold

The automatic cutoff below 12V protects the starter battery from a deep discharge if the unit stays wired with the engine off. On the other hand, its stated standby draw (under 3W continuous) is a real weak point: translated to a 12V system left permanently wired, that works out to roughly 180 Ah a month, far above the under 1 Ah a month claimed by the CTEK D250SE on this same segment. A unit left wired all winter on a starter battery will therefore draw noticeably more with the FAC580 than with its CTEK rival.

Another gap: no IP rating (dust and splash protection) is published on the manufacturer's official stores, even though the unit is designed to be bolted to the vehicle's bodywork, exposed to road spray and vibration. The CTEK D250SE, on this same point, states a full IP65 rating, and the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 an IP32 rating.

Finally, the box contents (FAC580 unit, 16.4 ft (5 m) 6 AWG input cable, 1.6 ft (0.5 m) output cable, six screws and four terminal caps, screwdriver, manual) include no fuse or fuse holder, even though the input cable connects straight to the starter battery's positive terminal. As with any automotive electrical add-on, it is up to the installer to add one near the battery.

A newer brand in this segment, a two-year warranty

Fossibot covers the FAC580 with a two-year warranty, matching the CTEK D250SE and the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 in this same comparison. The casing, ribbed and vented in the official photos, houses an active cooling fan and side vent; its 1.8 lb (0.8 kg) weight and 7.2 x 6.4 x 1.9 in (182 x 162 x 47 mm) footprint make it the most compact of the five products compared here.

Fossibot nonetheless remains a newer brand in the specific segment of alternator chargers than CTEK, Renogy or Victron, all of which have been around longer in this type of vehicle accessory. No outside teardown or longevity testing has turned up for the FAC580 so far, and no product recall has turned up for this model either: a picture that fits a still-young, thinly covered product rather than a proven problem.

Installation: a 16.4 ft input cable, MC4 output, fuse left to the installer

The FAC580 mounts directly onto the vehicle's bodywork or frame using its built-in mounting brackets, near the starter battery or engine bay. The box includes the unit itself, a 16.4 ft (5 m) 6 AWG input cable (long enough to reach most starter batteries from a mounting spot away from engine heat), a 1.6 ft (0.5 m) output cable, six screws, four connector caps, a screwdriver and the manual.

On the output side, the FAC580 connects to the solar input (MC4 connector) of the power station being charged. Fossibot explicitly names its own lineup (F800, F1200, F2400, F3600 Pro, F7200) as compatible, alongside third-party stations that meet the required input voltage range (45V or more). Since no fuse is supplied, it is recommended to fit one on the positive cable, as close as possible to the starter battery, as with any added electrical branch on a vehicle.

Against the CTEK D250SE, the Renogy DCC50S, the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 and the Victron Orion-Tr Smart

How does the Fossibot FAC580 stack up against the other alternator chargers already reviewed on this site?

Comparison: Fossibot FAC580 against four reference alternator chargers (manufacturer data, observed prices for guidance only)
CriterionFossibot FAC580CTEK D250SERenogy DCC50SRenogy RBC40D1U-BT2Victron Orion-Tr Smart Isolated
Output45 to 80V toward a power station input12/24V toward a service battery12/24V toward a service battery12/24V toward a service battery12V isolated toward a service battery
Power / max. current580W (15A across 45 to 80V)20A50A (500W claimed)40A adjustable (40/30/20/10A)30A
Built-in solar inputNo (it is the reverse: it feeds a station's own solar input)Yes, 300W maxYes, 660W maxNoNo
Chemistry-specific charge profileNone, left to the power station6 lead-acid profiles + 1 lithiumLead-acid and lithium profilesLead-acid (AGM/Gel/flooded) and lithium LiFePO4Lead-acid and lithium profiles
ControlSwitch only, no settings3-position selector cableOptional Bluetooth (BT-2)Bluetooth BT-2 includedBuilt-in Bluetooth + app
IP ratingNot publishedIP65Not statedIP32Not stated
Weight1.8 lb (0.8 kg)1.5 lb (0.7 kg)Not statedNot stated3.5 lb (1.6 kg)
Observed price$199.00$495.89$247.58$186.99$243.95

The FAC580 claims the highest output of the group and the lowest observed price, but it is also the only one of the five that does not charge a service battery directly: comparing it with the other four only makes sense if the intended use is really recharging a power station through its solar input, not maintaining a set of hardwired lead-acid or lithium batteries. The Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 remains the group's reference for equipment-per-dollar value (Bluetooth included, IP32 stated, cheaper than the FAC580), and the Victron Orion-Tr Smart Isolated for anyone wanting full galvanic isolation with built-in control.

Who the Fossibot FAC580 is for

The FAC580 is aimed above all at anyone who already owns a compatible power station (from Fossibot's own lineup or another brand with a suitable MC4 solar input) and wants to recharge it faster while driving, on a tight budget. Its claimed 580W and $199 price make it, on paper, the most powerful and cheapest option in this comparison for that specific use.

It is not, however, a fit for anyone looking to recharge a hardwired lead-acid or lithium service battery in the vehicle: none of the FAC580's ports are designed for that. For that use, the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 offers better equipment for a lower price, and the Victron Orion-Tr Smart Isolated remains the reference for full galvanic isolation. Anyone wanting remote monitoring or a charge history will also find both of those better equipped than the FAC580, which offers no connectivity at all.

The rating in detail

Our rating
3.6/5
Current actually delivered not measured
Cold-weather performance not measured
Capacity and versatility not measured
Safety and protections 4.0
Build and endurance 3.3
Measurement accuracy not measured
Connectivity and app not measured
Compatibility and installation not measured
Actual charging current 4.1
Battery compatibility 3.4
Control and programming 2.7
Output signal quality not measured
Standby consumption not measured
Actual available power not measured
Fossibot FAC580: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Fossibot FAC580

Fossibot FAC580

$199.00

Up to 580W from the alternator while driving, about 6 times faster than a 12V outlet, compatible with most third-party power stations.

View product
Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2

Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2

$186.99 (10)

The Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 charges your leisure battery at up to 40A from the alternator. No solar MPPT, unlike the DCC50S, and Bluetooth is sold separately.

View product
Renogy DCC50S

Renogy DCC50S

See price (12)

Recharge your house battery while driving AND from the sun: the Renogy DCC50S packs a 50A DC-DC charger and MPPT solar controller in one unit, built for vans.

View product
CTEK D250SE

CTEK D250SE

See price (9)

Alternator AND solar panel in a single 1.5 lb (0.7 kg) box: the CTEK D250SE recharges the house battery without ever needing a separate solar regulator.

View product
Victron Energy Orion-Tr Smart 12/12-30 Isolated

Victron Energy Orion-Tr Smart 12/12-30 Isolated

See price (17)

Boost your house lithium battery from the alternator while keeping both circuits electrically apart: the van-life go-to, with Bluetooth built in.

View product

Frequently asked questions

No. The FAC580 outputs a fixed 45 to 80V toward a power station's solar input (MC4), and that station manages the actual charging of its own internal battery. It is not a service-battery charger like the CTEK D250SE or the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2.

Up to 580W above an input voltage threshold of roughly 14V, which most alternators exceed from idle onward. Below that threshold, available power drops to 300W.

Yes, as long as the starter battery voltage stays above 12V. Between 12 and 12.75V, available power is limited to 300W; above 12.75V, it can reach 580W.

Yes. No fuse or fuse holder is included in the box, even though the 16.4 ft (5 m) input cable connects straight to the starter battery: one needs to be installed separately, as close as possible to the battery.

Fossibot claims compatibility with 99% of third-party power stations fitted with an MC4 solar input accepting 45V or more, a manufacturer figure that no independent measurement confirms so far.

Two years, according to Fossibot's official stores in both the US and Europe, the same length as the CTEK D250SE and the Renogy RBC40D1U-BT2 in this comparison.