Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini: our full review

At 2.6 lb (1.18 kg) and 1.2 in (3 cm) thick when folded, the SolarSaga 40W Mini is the most compact of Jackery's solar panels, built for hiking rather than RV use. But the advertised 40 W is only reachable through the DC connector to a station: the two built-in USB ports cap much lower, at 15 W and 12 W, and unlike other Jackery panels, no built-in kickstand helps aim it at the sun.

Our rating
4.0/5
Efficiency: 3.9 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Efficiency3.9Portability and size: 4.5 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Portability4.5Weather resistance: 4.1 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Weatherproofing4.1Output ports: 3.6 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Output3.6Build and endurance: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build4.0

How is this rating calculated?

Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini foldable solar panel viewed at a three-quarter angle, four panels deployed and the orange Jackery tab visible on the right edge

The essentials

The SolarSaga 40W Mini delivers on its format promise: at 2.6 lb (1.18 kg) and 1.2 in (3 cm) thick when folded, it is one of the lightest and thinnest panels in this entire nomad segment, more compact than a Bluetti PV60 (3.1 lb / 1.4 kg) or an EcoFlow 60W USB-C (4.4 lb / 2 kg). Its monocrystalline cells rated at 23% efficiency allow it to approach 30 to 35 W of real output on the advertised 40 W in direct sun with good orientation, through the DC output to a Jackery Explorer station. But that power stays largely out of reach of the two built-in USB ports, capped by the manufacturer itself at 15 W on USB-C and 12 W on USB-A, and the panel lies flat or hangs from its carabiners rather than resting on a built-in kickstand. Certified IP68 with a warranty that reaches 5 years after registration, it remains an honest top-up accessory for anyone who already owns a small Jackery station and hikes light, not a solution for quickly recharging a large battery.

Strengths

  • The lightest panel in this comparison after the BigBlue 28W: 2.6 lb (1.18 kg) for 40 W, against 3.1 lb (1.4 kg) for the Bluetti PV60's 60 W and 4.4 lb (2 kg) for the EcoFlow USB-C's 60 W
  • Folds down to just 1.2 in (3 cm) thick (9.9 x 11.8 in / 25.2 x 30 cm), thinner than these same two references (2.8 in and 1.8 in), fits in a laptop bag
  • Monocrystalline cells rated at 23% efficiency, among the best figures in the segment, for a real DC output that can approach 30 to 35 W of the advertised 40 W in direct sun with good orientation
  • TUV SUD certification resting on a named standard (IEC TS 63163) and eight IEC tests, IP68 rating, with a warranty that reaches 5 years in total (3 base years, 2 extra years with online registration)
  • Three genuinely usable outputs with no extra gear needed (USB-A, USB-C, DC8020), usable at the same time according to the manufacturer, where several competing panels of comparable power (EcoFlow 110/160/220W) offer no USB output at all
  • Two carabiners and built-in loops for hanging the panel from a backpack or a tent, a real fixing alternative in the absence of a kickstand

Limitations

  • No built-in kickstand: unlike larger Jackery panels, it lies flat or hangs from its carabiners, with no dedicated system to tilt it precisely toward the sun
  • The two built-in USB ports cap very low given the advertised 40 W: 15 W maximum on USB-C (5V/3A, without the 9V/12V steps of full USB-PD fast charging) and only 12 W on USB-A (5V/2.4A), a limit set by the product's own documentation
  • The included DC8020-to-USB-C adapter is explicitly reserved by the manufacturer for charging a Jackery station: it should not be used to power another device despite the standard-looking USB-C plug
  • Under cloud cover or in winter, output drops very sharply because of the small surface area: only a few watts near the solstice or under a cloud, against 30 to 35 W in direct sun
  • No MC4 or universal connector: connecting this panel to another brand's station requires finding an adapter that matches the proprietary DC8020 connector
  • The "SolarSaga 40W" name also covers a separate bifacial model, the SolarSaga 40W Air, sold alongside it in some markets: not to be confused with the monofacial version reviewed here
Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini: see the full details and price →

The advertised 40 W, and what you can actually get from it

The Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini uses monocrystalline cells rated at 23% efficiency, one of the best figures in its class of compact nomad panels. Its spec sheet lists an open-circuit voltage (Voc) of 25 V and a short-circuit current (Isc) of 2.07 A, standardised values that never show up as such in real use: they mark the two extremes of the power curve, not an operating point.

40 W
Rated power
23 %
Cell efficiency
2.6 lb
Advertised weight (1.18 kg)

In the field, the power actually fed into a station through the DC output runs to around 30 to 35 W in direct sun with good panel orientation, or 75 to 88% of the advertised 40 W, a solid share for such a compact format. Around 10am under a clear sky, it sits in the same upper range, around 28 to 30 W.

That output drops off very quickly once conditions worsen: under cloud cover it falls to around 4 W, and near the winter solstice at midday it barely exceeds 3 W. That gap, far wider than on larger panels, comes down to the physics of such a compact panel: less cell surface means less margin as soon as the angle of incidence or the sunlight moves away from ideal.

Power delivered on the DC output to a Jackery station, by panel orientation and sunlight conditionDirect sun, panel tilted35 WDirect sun, laid flat30 WOvercast sky4 W
Power on the DC output to a Jackery Explorer station, by panel tilt and cloud cover. The advertised 40 W assumes direct sun and a well-aimed panel.

That 30 to 35 W of DC output still stays out of reach of the panel's two built-in USB ports, capped much lower by the manufacturer itself, as the next section details.

The USB-C port never exceeds 15 W: the DC output remains the only real way in

The SolarSaga 40W Mini offers three outputs: a DC8020 connector for a Jackery station, a USB-A port and a USB-C port, said by the manufacturer to power up to three devices at once. But these three outputs are far from equal. The USB-A port caps at 12 W (5V, 2.4A) and the USB-C port at 15 W (5V, 3A): limits set by the product's own documentation, not by sunlight conditions. Even in direct sun with 30 W or more available at the panel's output, no device plugged into a single USB port can receive more than that limit.

15 W
USB-C port ceiling (5V/3A)
12 W
USB-A port ceiling (5V/2.4A)
3
Devices powered at once
Maximum power per output on the SolarSaga 40W Mini: DC connector to a station, USB-C port, USB-A portDC output to a station35 W max.USB-C port (5V/3A)15 W max.USB-A port (5V/2.4A)12 W max.
Maximum power actually accessible depending on the output used: the advertised 40 W is only approached through the DC output to a Jackery station, never through a single USB port.

Another limit worth knowing before buying: the included cable comes with a DC8020-to-USB-C adapter, but it is explicitly reserved by the manufacturer for charging a Jackery station. It should not be used to power another device, despite the standard-looking USB-C plug on its end. This USB-C port is also not a full USB-PD port: it only offers a single fixed 5V step, without the 9V or 12V steps most recent smartphones use to trigger fast charging. A USB-PD-capable phone will therefore charge at the same rate as an older, plain USB-A port, not at a modern fast-charge rate.

When both USB ports are used at the same time, they share a single pool of available power rather than each running at its own ceiling: the second device plugged in receives less than the first, with the USB-C port generally prioritised over USB-A. No MC4 or universal connector is offered: connecting this panel to another brand's station or charge controller requires finding an adapter that matches Jackery's proprietary DC8020 connector.

2.6 lb (1.18 kg) and 1.2 in (3 cm) folded: the format that earns the Mini name

Unfolded, the panel measures 40.2 x 11.8 x 0.7 in (102 x 30 x 1.85 cm) across its four panels. Folded, it packs down to 9.9 x 11.8 x 1.2 in (25.2 x 30 x 3 cm), roughly the size of a ring binder, for a weight of 2.6 lb (1.18 kg) on the scale. That makes it one of the most compact formats in the entire segment of USB-equipped nomad solar panels compared on this site.

2.6 lb
Advertised weight (1.18 kg)
1.2 in
Folded thickness (3 cm)
40.2 in
Unfolded length (102 cm)
Weight and folded thickness against two other small USB-equipped nomad panels
PanelSolarSaga 40W MiniBluetti PV60 (60 W)EcoFlow 60W USB-C
Advertised weight2.6 lb (1.18 kg)3.1 lb (1.4 kg)4.4 lb (2 kg)
Folded thickness1.2 in (3 cm)2.8 in (7 cm)1.8 in (4.5 cm)
Rated power40 W60 W60 W

The SolarSaga 40W Mini is therefore both the lightest and the thinnest folded of these three references, despite a lower rated power. The BigBlue 28W, smaller still at around 1.5 lb (0.7 kg) advertised, remains the featherweight of the category, but for a far lower rated power (28 W) and noticeably weaker weatherproofing (IP44 against IP68 here). Lighter than a laptop, the Mini slips into a laptop bag or against the back of a backpack without noticeably shifting its balance.

No built-in kickstand: the panel lies flat or hangs

Unlike larger Jackery panels, the SolarSaga 40W Mini has no built-in kickstand to tilt it precisely toward the sun. Its only support accessories are two included carabiners and loops built into the fabric, designed for hanging the panel from a backpack, a branch or a tent line rather than for standing it upright on its own.

That absence is not a minor detail on such a small panel. Elsewhere on this site, a solar panel's orientation is shown to easily swing output by 30 to 40%: with no built-in system to lock in a precise angle, the Mini has to be laid flat, propped against whatever is on hand, or hung vertically, three solutions that take more fiddling than a fold-out kickstand and make it harder to hold the optimal angle over time, especially early morning or late afternoon when the sun sits low.

The two carabiners remain a credible solution for nomadic use, though: hung from a backpack while walking, or clipped to the outside of a tent at camp, the panel keeps producing without needing to be set down on the ground.

IP68, a documented certification, and a warranty reaching 5 years

The panel is IP68-certified, the best protection against water and dust for this type of product, verified across eight separate tests under the IEC TS 63163 standard with TUV SUD certification. That rating means the panel can be left outside through a rain shower without needing to be packed away in a hurry, even though it is not rated to stay submerged or exposed to heavy rain for long periods.

IP68
Water and dust protection
5 years
Total warranty with registration

The stated operating temperature range runs from -4 °F (-20 °C) to 149 °F (65 °C), wide enough to cover both a winter camp at altitude and a summer day in direct sun on the cells' black fabric. The manufacturer's warranty reaches 5 years in total: 3 base years, plus 2 extra years by registering the product online, a span that matches the best in the bifacial panel segment and comfortably beats the 12-month warranty of a competing USB-C panel like the EcoFlow 60W.

As the SolarSaga 40W Mini has been on sale since 2024, the track record available on its long-term durability is naturally more limited than for a product sold for many years: no hinge or connector issue has been found for this product to date, an honest caveat to keep in mind rather than a proven flaw.

Compatible with small Jackery stations, closed to everything else without an adapter

The SolarSaga 40W Mini is designed to pair with Jackery's compact stations: the Explorer 100 Plus, the Explorer 240 v2 and the Explorer 300 Plus are explicitly listed by the manufacturer as compatible through the DC8020 connector. At 40 W, it will not quickly fill a large station: for a capacity in the kWh range, a 200 W or larger panel carried by vehicle remains far more suitable.

Connecting this panel to another brand's station or charge controller requires sourcing an adapter cable matching the target solar input yourself, as the DC8020 connector is proprietary to Jackery and not shared with the rest of the market.

Worth knowing: the "SolarSaga 40W" name also covers a separate model, the SolarSaga 40W Air, with bifacial cells, sold alongside it in some markets. The Mini reviewed here remains monofacial: check for the "Mini" name and the absence of an active rear face before comparing reviews or specifications found online.

Against other small USB-equipped nomad panels

Compared with the USB-equipped nomad panels already reviewed on this site, the SolarSaga 40W Mini sits in an intermediate spot: more powerful and better sealed than the BigBlue 28W, but less versatile on connectivity than the Bluetti PV60 or the EcoFlow 60W USB-C, both of which weigh more.

The SolarSaga 40W Mini against three other USB-equipped nomad panels
CriterionSolarSaga 40W MiniBigBlue 28WBluetti PV60EcoFlow 60W USB-C
Rated power40 W28 W60 W60 W
Advertised weight2.6 lb (1.18 kg)≈ 1.5 lb (0.7 kg)3.1 lb (1.4 kg)4.4 lb (2 kg)
WeatherproofingIP68IP44IP65IP68
USB-C port15 W max.Not specifiedYes15 W max.
Warranty5 years (3+2)Not specifiedNot specified12 months
best-batteries.com rating4.03.73.94.1

The BigBlue 28W is unbeatable on weight alone, but its far lower rated power and IP44 rating, which protects the fabric but not the USB ports, confine it to strict phone top-ups. The Bluetti PV60 offers three genuine outputs (DC5521, USB-A, USB-C) for an advertised 60 W, but its real available power in the field generally sits around 30 to 35 W, roughly what the SolarSaga 40W Mini already approaches with 20 W less on paper. The EcoFlow 60W USB-C shares the same 15 W ceiling on its USB-C port, but its mere 12-month warranty contrasts sharply with the Mini's 5 years once registered. Against these three references, the SolarSaga 40W Mini stands out mainly for its balance of weatherproofing, warranty and format, more than for a single standout advantage.

Price and positioning in the Jackery range

In the US, the SolarSaga 40W Mini is priced around $126, or about $3.16 per advertised watt. That is pricier per watt than the BigBlue 28W (around $69, or $2.47/W), but cheaper than the SolarSaga 80W (around $288, or $3.61/W) or the EcoFlow 45W (around $172, or $3.82/W), two panels that are nonetheless more powerful.

Observed price and cost per advertised watt, four compact nomad panels
PanelSolarSaga 40W MiniBigBlue 28WSolarSaga 80WEcoFlow 45W
Observed price≈ $126≈ $69≈ $288≈ $172
Cost per watt≈ $3.16≈ $2.47≈ $3.61≈ $3.82

This middle-of-the-table position comes down to format: the Mini is not the cheapest panel per watt on the market, but it is the only one in this comparison to pair such low power with full IP68 weatherproofing and a warranty reaching 5 years, two arguments that matter more for extended nomadic use than the power-to-price ratio alone.

Who it suits, and who it does not

The SolarSaga 40W Mini is aimed first at anyone who already owns, or is considering, a small Jackery station (Explorer 100 Plus, 240 v2 or 300 Plus) and wants the lightest, most compact solar top-up possible for hiking, bikepacking or kayaking: 2.6 lb (1.18 kg) and 1.2 in (3 cm) folded slip into almost any bag with no meaningful bulk trade-off.

Anyone looking to fast-charge a smartphone over USB-C should look at a standard charger or power bank instead: this port's 15 W ceiling is nothing like a modern fast charge. Anyone with a medium-to-large station, or who wants to recharge it quickly, should look at a 100 W panel or larger that can be carried by vehicle. And anyone who camps often without a convenient anchor point (tree, pole, rigid tent frame) will have to work around the missing kickstand, planning to lay the panel flat or improvise a prop.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.0/5
Efficiency 3.9
Portability and size 4.5
Weather resistance 4.1
Output ports 3.6
Capacity and expansion not measured
Solar input and MPPT not measured
Control and smart features not measured
Installation and compliance not measured
Build and endurance 4.0
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections not measured
Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

$126.22 (5)

The smallest SolarSaga: 40 W in a 2.6 lb (1.2 kg) foldable panel that slips into a backpack to feed a compact station at camp.

View product
BigBlue 28W

BigBlue 28W

See price (48)

A panel that folds into your pack and charges three devices at once in the sun: high-efficiency cells, three USB ports, and real weather resistance.

View product
Bluetti PV60 60W

Bluetti PV60 60W

$149.37 (4)

60W of solar power in barely 3.1 lb (1.4 kg): the ultralight foldable panel that slips into your bag to recharge phone, power bank and small stations out in nature.

View product
EcoFlow 60W solar panel

EcoFlow 60W solar panel

$109.00 (5)

A pocket solar panel with a USB-C output: charge your phone, tablet or laptop directly in the sun, with no station, in a format as thin as a book.

View product
Jackery SolarSaga 100W

Jackery SolarSaga 100W

$215.29 (4)

100W of solar power in a light, foldable panel with kickstands and USB outputs: enough to recharge a Jackery station or your devices straight from the sun.

View product

Frequently asked questions

Through the DC output to a station, real power approaches 30 to 35 W in direct sun with good orientation, or 75 to 88% of the advertised 40 W. On the two built-in USB ports, the ceiling drops much lower: 15 W maximum on USB-C and 12 W on USB-A.

Yes, through the USB-A port (12 W maximum) or USB-C port (15 W maximum), both capped well below a modern fast charge. The included DC8020-to-USB-C adapter, however, is reserved by the manufacturer for charging a Jackery station.

No. Unlike larger Jackery panels, the SolarSaga 40W Mini lies flat or hangs using two carabiners and built-in loops, with no dedicated system for tilting it toward the sun.

The manufacturer explicitly lists the Explorer 100 Plus, the Explorer 240 v2 and the Explorer 300 Plus. For any other brand, an adapter cable matching the target solar input is required, as the DC8020 connector is proprietary to Jackery.

Yes, its IP68 rating is the best protection against water and dust available for this type of product. It is not rated, though, to stay submerged or exposed to heavy rain for long periods.

The SolarSaga 40W Air is a separate model with bifacial cells, sold alongside it in some markets. The Mini reviewed here remains monofacial: check the exact name before comparing specifications found online.