Ugreen 90W Car Charger: our full review

With a retractable USB-C cable rated at 60W on its own, this cigarette-lighter charger promises 90W for three devices at once. The math only truly works with two devices plugged in: the moment a third joins in, the power actually available drops to 75W, a nuance the product page only half spells out.

Our rating
4.1/5
Safety and protections: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Safety4.2Build and endurance: 4.1 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Build4.1Actually delivered power: 4.1 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Power4.1Multi-port power sharing: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Sharing4.0Protocol compatibility: 4.3 out of 5 (weighting 12%)Protocols4.3Size and technology: 3.9 out of 5 (weighting 8%)Size3.9

How is this rating calculated?

Ugreen 90W car charger seen from a three-quarter angle, retractable USB-C cable partly extended, with the USB-C and USB-A ports visible on the side

The essentials

The Ugreen 90W smartly fills the middle tier of the Nexode retractable-cable lineup: more versatile than the 60W thanks to a cable that climbs to 60W instead of 30W, and more compact and cheaper than the 145W for anyone who does not need to charge a laptop at full speed. Its protocol compatibility is wide (PD 3.0, QC 3.0, PPS, AFC, FCP, SCP), its electronic protections are thorough, and two devices plugged in together genuinely reach the advertised 90W. The main catch is the third device: once all three outputs are drawing power at the same time, the real budget drops to 75W, with the cable keeping priority while the other two ports settle for a trickle of power well below their individual maximum. A solid pick for a family or a mobile team that rarely charges more than two devices at once.

Strengths

  • 27.6 in (70cm) retractable USB-C cable capable of 60W on its own, double the equivalent cable on the Ugreen 60W in the same lineup
  • The cable and a secondary port together genuinely reach the advertised 90W (60W plus 30W), with no compromise for two-device use
  • Wide protocol compatibility: USB PD 3.0, QC 3.0, PPS, but also AFC (Samsung), FCP and SCP (Huawei), beyond what the product page highlights
  • Manufacturer-stated six-layer protection (overvoltage, overcurrent, short-circuit, overheating, overload) and a V0 flame-retardant plastic housing
  • 24-month manufacturer warranty stated for this model, a detail missing from the product page itself
  • More compact than the 145W in the same lineup (3.1 oz/87g versus 4.2 oz/118g), for anyone who does not need the 100W port

Limitations

  • Once all three outputs are used together, the real budget drops to 75W: the cable keeps its 60W but the other two ports fall back to 7.5W each, far below their 30W individual maximum
  • No single port exceeds 60W: unlike the 145W in the same lineup, this charger cannot charge a laptop at full speed on a dedicated port
  • The built-in cable is permanently fixed: a failure of the retraction mechanism after years of use would put the whole charger out of action, with no separately replaceable part
  • No cable is included for the two extra ports (USB-C and USB-A): only the built-in cable is immediately usable
  • No independent data confirms how well the power holds up under sustained charging over tens of minutes
  • No compatibility with the fastest proprietary charging standards such as SuperVOOC or Warp Charge, which require the charger from that specific manufacturer
Ugreen 90W Car Charger: see the full details and price →

90W, three outputs and a cable that never gets lost

The Ugreen 90W Car Charger plugs into any 12V or 24V cigarette-lighter socket and offers three outputs usable at the same time: a built-in retractable USB-C cable, an extra USB-C port and a USB-A port. It sits in the middle tier of a Ugreen retractable-cable lineup that also includes a simpler 60W version and a more powerful 145W version with four outputs.

90 W
Advertised total power
27.6 in
Retractable USB-C cable (70cm)
3
Outputs usable together

The unit weighs 3.1 oz (87g) at 5.3 x 3.9 x 1.5 in (135 x 100 x 37.5 mm) once the cable is retracted. Its slate-grey top and black base set it apart from the all-black chargers more common in this segment.

The retractable cable: up to 60W, the Nexode lineup's signature feature

The centerpiece of this charger is its built-in USB-C cable: it extends up to 27.6 in (70cm) with a single pull and winds itself back in the moment it is released, saving the need to carry or hunt for a separate cable for a passenger. Ugreen rates this mechanism for 25,000 retraction cycles and 10,000 bend cycles for the cable itself, two separate durability figures that each cover years of daily use.

Used alone, this cable delivers up to 60W, double the equivalent cable on the Ugreen 60W in the same lineup, which is capped at 30W. That 30W gap is what really sets the two models apart: the extra USB-C and USB-A ports are identical on both chargers, capped at 30W each.

30W, 30W, 60W: what each output is worth on its own

Each output has its own ceiling when used alone: 60W on the built-in USB-C cable, 30W on the extra USB-C port, 30W on the USB-A port. These three ceilings line up with the voltage and current profiles the charger offers (up to 20V/3A on the cable, 12V/2.5A at most on the other two ports), and are plenty for fast-charging a phone or tablet on any of the three outputs.

Maximum power of each output used alone
OutputPower aloneSuited to
Retractable USB-C cable60WPhone, tablet, small ultrabook as a top-up
USB-C port30WPhone, tablet, small accessory
USB-A port30WPhone, small accessory, older device

A power-hungry laptop (a 16-inch MacBook Pro or an ultrabook needing more than 60W) will not hit its full charging speed on any of the three outputs: that is the territory reserved for the 100W port on the Ugreen 145W in the same lineup.

90W with two devices, 75W with three: what the product page only half spells out

Add up the charger's three individual ceilings and you get 120W (60 plus 30 plus 30), well above the 90W actually available from the 12V socket. That gap is nothing unusual: no multi-port charger of this size can power every output at its maximum at the same time. What matters is how the power actually gets shared once several devices are plugged in.

With two devices, the answer is simple and favorable: the cable paired with either secondary port reaches the full 90W together (60W plus 30W), with no compromise at all. This is the scenario Ugreen itself highlights in its own product visuals, with both the cable-plus-USB-C and cable-plus-USB-A combinations explicitly labeled at 90W.

Total power actually available depending on how many devices are plugged in at the same timeCable alone60 WCable + 1 port90 W3 outputs active75 W
Two outputs active together (the cable and one of the other two ports) reach the full 90W. The moment a third output joins in, the total actually available drops to 75W.

The nuance shows up with three devices: Ugreen states that with all three outputs active together, the cable keeps priority at 60W while the other two ports fall back to 7.5W each, for a total of 75W, fifteen watts under the figure printed on the box. In practice, a third device still charges, just slowly: 7.5W is enough to hold a battery level steady rather than fast-charge a phone. Measured against its own individual ceilings, this charger still comes out proportionally less oversold than the 145W in the same lineup, whose four combined ceilings add up to 220W for 145W actually available.

PD, QC, PPS, AFC, FCP, SCP: wide protocol compatibility

The product page highlights three protocols: USB PD 3.0, QC 3.0 and PPS, already enough for the vast majority of recent phones and tablets, iPhone and Android alike. This charger goes further, though: it also supports AFC, Samsung's own fast-charging protocol, plus FCP and SCP, the two protocols used by Huawei and Honor. Few cigarette-lighter chargers in this price bracket pack such a complete list onto a single socket.

This protocol breadth translates into real compatibility with almost the entire current Android lineup, beyond the basic PD/QC/PPS trio. The one limit is shared by every general-purpose charger: the fastest proprietary charging standards from certain brands, such as SuperVOOC (Oppo) or Warp Charge (OnePlus), only kick in with that manufacturer's own charger, and fall back here to a standard PD or QC profile, which is slower.

Electronic protections and warranty: what the brand states

Ugreen states six layers of protection for this model: against overvoltage, overcurrent, short-circuit, overheating and overload, a thorough safety baseline for an accessory that stays plugged into the vehicle's battery continuously while driving. The housing is made of V0-rated flame-retardant plastic, the most demanding fire-resistance class for this kind of plastic.

Warranty: Ugreen states a 24-month manufacturer warranty for this model, a detail that is not, however, listed on the product page itself. Worth confirming with the retailer at the time of purchase, as terms can vary from one market to another.

No recall or recurring manufacturing defect has been identified for this specific model to date. That said, the product is still too recent on the market to judge its long-term reliability on the same footing as an accessory that has been available for several years, especially on the single moving mechanical part it contains: the cable's retraction mechanism.

A no-frills format, with no GaN claim

At 3.1 oz (87g) and 5.3 x 3.9 x 1.5 in (135 x 100 x 37.5 mm) once the cable is retracted, this charger stays more compact and lighter than the 145W in the same lineup (4.2 oz/118g), but noticeably bulkier than a minimalist cigarette-lighter charger with no built-in cable: for comparison, a direct competitor with the same total power gets down to 0.9 oz (26g) by relying on two plain USB-C ports with no retractable mechanism.

The gap has a simple explanation: the retraction reel and the cable that goes with it take up space a bare-port charger does not need to make room for. This product also makes no GaN claim, unlike some higher-end wall chargers on the market: the format stays the more conventional, silicon-based kind, which does not stop the stated power ceilings from lining up with the protocols it supports.

Against the 60W, the 145W and a direct rival

How does this 90W model compare with the rest of the Ugreen retractable-cable lineup, and with a direct rival offering the same total power?

Technical comparison: Ugreen 90W against the 60W and 145W in the same lineup, and the Iniu 90W (data from product pages, for guidance only)
CriterionUgreen 90WUgreen 60WUgreen 145WIniu 90W
Total power90W60W145W90W
Built-in cableYes, up to 60WYes, up to 30WYes, up to 60WNo
Most powerful port besides the cable30W30W100W45W
Weight3.1 oz (87g)Not stated4.2 oz (118g)0.9 oz (26g)
Stated warranty24 monthsNot stated24 months3 years (general brand policy)
Observed price$27.99$19.99$34.99$18.99

Against the 60W, the 90W doubles the built-in cable's power for a limited price gap, a clear win the moment one of the connected devices needs more than 30W. Against the 145W, it stays more compact and cheaper, at the cost of a dedicated high-power port able to charge a laptop at full speed. Against the Iniu 90W, the same total power is advertised but the approach is the opposite: two symmetrical 45W USB-C ports with no built-in cable, in a much lighter housing. The choice between the two comes down to the convenience of a cable always at hand versus a minimalist format with a slightly more powerful single port.

Who it suits, and who it does not

This charger suits a family or a mobile team that most often charges one or two devices at a time (driver and passenger) and appreciates never having to hunt for a USB-C cable in the glovebox again. Its wide protocol compatibility, including AFC, FCP and SCP, makes it a sound pick for a household mixing iPhone, Samsung and Huawei or Honor devices.

It suits less well anyone who regularly charges three devices at full speed at the same time, a scenario where the real 75W total makes itself felt, or anyone who needs to charge a laptop drawing more than 60W from the car: the Ugreen 145W and its dedicated 100W port are the better fit there. For a simple two-phone setup with no need for a built-in cable, the cheaper Ugreen 60W covers it easily.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.1/5
Actual charging current not measured
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections 4.2
Build and endurance 4.1
Cables and connectors not measured
Actually delivered power 4.1
Multi-port power sharing 4.0
Protocol compatibility 4.3
Size and technology 3.9
Format and chemistry compatibility not measured
Charging precision not measured
Display and control not measured
Ugreen 90W Car Charger: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Ugreen 90W Car Charger

Ugreen 90W Car Charger

See price (14)

The 3-in-1 cigarette-lighter charger: 90W in total, with a 27.6 in (70 cm) retractable USB-C cable up to 60W, for a phone, a tablet and even a laptop.

View product
Ugreen 60W Car Charger

Ugreen 60W Car Charger

See price (22)

The compact, clever cigarette-lighter charger: 60W to charge 3 devices at once, with a 27.6 in (70 cm) retractable USB-C cable always to hand in the car.

View product
Ugreen 145W Car Charger

Ugreen 145W Car Charger

See price (18)

The all-in-one car charger: 145W to charge 4 devices at once, with a 27.6 in (70 cm) retractable USB-C cable always to hand in the car.

View product
INIU Car Charger 90W

INIU Car Charger 90W

See price (7)

Two 45W USB-C ports, a USB-A port and a battery voltage display: the INIU 90W car charger powers 3 devices at once, in a tiny housing.

View product

Frequently asked questions

Two at once: the built-in cable paired with either of the other two ports together reaches the advertised 90W. The moment a third device is plugged in, the real total drops to 75W, with the cable keeping priority at 60W.

Only a modest one: the built-in cable tops out at 60W, enough for a light ultrabook but not for a 16-inch MacBook Pro. For a dedicated 100W port, the Ugreen 145W in the same lineup is the better fit.

USB PD 3.0, QC 3.0 and PPS first and foremost, but also AFC (Samsung), FCP and SCP (Huawei and Honor), a wider compatibility than what the product page highlights.

The cable keeps its 60W but the other two ports fall back to 7.5W each, for a total of 75W, short of the 90W printed on the box. The third device keeps charging, just slowly.

Ugreen states a 24-month manufacturer warranty for this model, a duration that is not listed on the product page itself. It is worth confirming with the retailer at the time of purchase.

The 60W caps its built-in cable at 30W, against 60W here. The 145W adds a fourth output and a dedicated 100W port for a laptop, in a heavier and pricier housing.