Ugreen 52.5W Car Charger: our full review

A 30W USB-C port with Power Delivery and PPS, a 22.5W USB-A port with Quick Charge 3.0 and SCP: the Ugreen 52.5W car charger fills the gap between the 36W and the 60W in the same lineup, with a power budget that, unusually, adds up exactly to the sum of its two ports.

Our rating
3.8/5
Safety and protections: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Safety3.8Build and endurance: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Build3.8Actually delivered power: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Power3.8Multi-port power sharing: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Sharing4.0Protocol compatibility: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 12%)Protocols4.0Size and technology: 3.5 out of 5 (weighting 8%)Size3.5

How is this rating calculated?

Ugreen 52.5W car charger showing its USB-C port and its USB-A port from the front

The essentials

The Ugreen 52.5W rounds out the brand's car charger lineup between the 36W, simpler and limited to two USB-A ports, and the 60W, with a built-in retractable USB-C cable. Its USB-C port reaches up to 30W over Power Delivery 3.0 with PPS, its USB-A port up to 22.5W over Quick Charge 3.0 and SCP, for fast charging of two devices at once. Its power budget is one of the most transparent in the lineup: 30 plus 22.5 adds up to exactly 52.5W, with no grey area of sharing between the two ports. The downside shows up in its footprint: next to the Anker 323, a direct rival strictly identical in total power and port split, it carries a stated weight more than twice as high and a warranty that is stated far less clearly. With no cable in the box and unable to power a laptop, it remains above all a pick for two smartphones or tablets to charge quickly in the car, rather than an all-purpose charging hub.

Strengths

  • USB-C port up to 30W over Power Delivery 3.0 with PPS, a fast and finely tuned charge for most recent smartphones and tablets
  • USB-A port up to 22.5W over Quick Charge 3.0 and SCP, for a second device to charge at the same time with no stated slowdown
  • Exact, transparent power budget: 30 plus 22.5 adds up to exactly 52.5W, with no ambiguity over a hidden trade-off between the two ports
  • Broad protocol compatibility: PD, PPS, QC 3.0 and SCP cover the Apple ecosystem, general Android devices and Huawei and Honor devices alike
  • Compact aluminum body (2.6 x 1.2 x 1.2 in / 65 x 30 x 30 mm) with five built-in protections against overvoltage, overcurrent, overheating, short circuits and overcharging
  • 12 to 24V input range, compatible with cars as well as vans and RVs

Limitations

  • Close to two and a half times heavier than the Anker 323, despite being strictly identical in total power and port split: a stated 2.0 oz (57.2 g) against 0.8 oz (23 g)
  • No cable included in the box: you need your own good-quality USB-C and USB-A cables to reach the stated power levels
  • 30W maximum on the USB-C port, not enough to power a laptop, even a light one, unlike the 63W (45W) or the 130W (100W) in the same lineup
  • Warranty length that is not stated the same way from one retailer to another, ranging from 12 to 24 months depending on the listing, with no single clear figure on the product page itself
  • No independent figure confirms that the stated 30W and 22.5W actually hold up when both ports are used at the same time
  • No named active thermal-monitoring technology, unlike the ActiveShield 2.0 built into the rival Anker 323
Ugreen Car Charger 52.5W: see the full details and price →

The middle rung of a lineup that spans 36W to 130W

The Ugreen 52.5W car charger sits in a precise spot within the brand's car charger lineup: more powerful and better equipped than the 36W, which is limited to two USB-A ports with no USB-C, yet simpler than the 60W with its built-in retractable USB-C cable. It sticks to a classic two-port layout, one USB-C and one USB-A, for fast charging of two devices at once, without trying to pack in extra outputs or gimmicks.

52.5 W
Total power
30 W
USB-C port (PD/PPS)
22.5 W
USB-A port (QC 3.0/SCP)

The body plugs straight into the car's 12V outlet, with no cable in between, and stays discreet once in place: the opposite approach to the brand's retractable-cable models, but one that keeps the advantage of simplicity and a lower price.

30W over Power Delivery and PPS on the USB-C port

The USB-C port lists up to four voltage steps depending on the connected device: 5V/3A, 9V/3A, 15V/2A and 20V/1.5A, for a maximum of 30W. Power Delivery 3.0 covers most recent smartphones and tablets, and support for PPS (Programmable Power Supply) allows finer voltage adjustments in smaller steps, in theory a more efficient charge that dissipates less heat than coarser fixed steps.

This 30W ceiling puts the Ugreen 52.5W in the same bracket as the USB-C port on the 60W in the same lineup, but well below the 45W on the 63W or the 100W on the 130W; the 36W, for its part, has no USB-C port at all. For a smartphone or tablet, the difference barely registers: most consumer devices cap their own draw well below 30W anyway. The limit becomes real as soon as a laptop enters the picture, even a light one, a use case this model was not designed for.

Worth knowing: a quality Power Delivery-compatible USB-C cable is essential to reach the stated 30W. A low-end cable, or one meant only for data, can throttle charging well below that ceiling.

An extra 22.5W on the USB-A port, with no grey area on sharing

The second port, a USB-A, rounds out the set with two fast-charging paths: up to 18W over classic Quick Charge 3.0 (5V/3A, 9V/2A, 12V/1.5A steps), or up to 22.5W over the SCP (Super Charge Protocol) standard used by the Huawei and Honor ecosystem, with stated steps of 4.5V/5A or 5V/4.5A. The power actually delivered therefore depends entirely on which protocol the connected device recognizes, rather than on a single flat ceiling.

The notable point about this model lies in the arithmetic on its spec sheet: 30W (USB-C) plus 22.5W (USB-A) adds up to exactly 52.5W, the stated total. On some multi-port chargers, the sum of the individual maximums exceeds the stated total output, hinting at an unstated trade-off once several outputs approach their peak; here, there is no such grey area on paper, as each port can aim for its own maximum without arithmetically encroaching on the other. That does not rule out some caution over how well these two ceilings actually hold at the same time, covered further below.

PD, PPS, QC 3.0 and SCP: broad compatibility, with one clear limit

The combination of four protocols, Power Delivery 3.0, PPS, Quick Charge 3.0 and SCP, covers a good share of the devices in circulation: recent iPhones and iPads over Power Delivery on the USB-C port, a large slice of general Android smartphones and tablets over Power Delivery or Quick Charge depending on the port used, and Huawei and Honor smartphones over SCP on the USB-A port, an ecosystem plenty of generic chargers leave out.

This broad compatibility comes with one clear limit stated plainly on the spec sheet itself: the USB-C port caps at 30W, which rules out any laptop outright, even a light model that would settle for 20 to 30W in everyday office use. For that kind of device, the 63W (45W USB-C port) or the 130W (100W USB-C port) in the same Ugreen lineup are a better fit. This 52.5W model stays built for smartphones, tablets, GPS units and dashcams, not a mobile workstation.

The detail that costs you later: no cable in the box

The box holds only the charger and its printed documentation: no USB-C or USB-A cable is included. That choice, common on the brand's simpler car charger models, has a real consequence at checkout: without a Power Delivery-compatible USB-C cable already on hand, reaching the stated 30W on that port is impossible, and a basic USB-A charging cable will just as easily cap the second port's performance.

This sets it apart from the brand's Nexode models, which come with a built-in retractable USB-C cable, and even from the 60W in Ugreen's own car charger lineup, which packs a retractable cable alongside its two independent ports. For anyone who already owns good cables, the difference is purely theoretical; for anyone starting from scratch, it adds to the real cost of the accessory.

More than twice the weight of its direct rival, the Anker 323

At 2.0 oz (57.2 g) for 2.6 x 1.2 x 1.2 in (65 x 30 x 30 mm), the Ugreen 52.5W reuses the exact footprint of the 36W in the same lineup, despite that model being noticeably less powerful (36W versus 52.5W) and lighter (1.4 oz / 40 g). Within its own family, the added USB-C port and roughly 0.6 oz (17 g) of extra components stay in reasonable proportion to the extra power delivered.

The comparison turns less flattering against the Anker 323, a direct rival that is identical on paper: the same 52.5W total power, the same USB-C 30W plus USB-A 22.5W port split. Its spec sheet nonetheless lists a weight of just 0.8 oz (23 g) for a 2.2 x 1.2 in (56 x 30 mm) footprint, more than twice as light as the Ugreen for an equivalent charging promise on paper. A gap of this size, at matched specifications, is not fully explained by the usual margin of error between different brands' spec sheets.

Stated footprint of the Ugreen car chargers against the Anker 323 (data from the catalogue's product pages)
ModelPowerStated weightStated dimensions
Anker 32352.5W0.8 oz (23 g)2.2 x 1.2 in (56 x 30 mm)
Ugreen 52.5W52.5W2.0 oz (57.2 g)2.6 x 1.2 x 1.2 in (65 x 30 x 30 mm)
Ugreen 36W36W1.4 oz (40 g)2.6 x 1.2 x 1.2 in (65 x 30 x 30 mm)
Ugreen 130W130W1.6 oz (45 g)3.0 x 1.4 x 1.4 in (76 x 36 x 36 mm)

The Ugreen 52.5W still stays compact in absolute terms, easily small enough to stay clear of a gear shifter or center console. It is only against its closest rival on paper that its footprint loses the advantage.

Five standard protections, a warranty that shifts from site to site

Ugreen lists five internal protections on this model: against overvoltage, overcurrent, overheating, short circuits and overcharging. That is a solid baseline for this kind of accessory, left permanently plugged into the car's 12V outlet, often unattended. The aluminum body also helps dissipate heat and guards against everyday knocks and scratches.

The comparison with the Anker 323 highlights a difference in approach rather than a gap in raw safety: the Anker carries a named technology, ActiveShield 2.0, which keeps monitoring temperature and adjusts the delivered power accordingly, while the Ugreen 52.5W relies on more standard protections, with no named active monitoring on its spec sheet.

Worth noting: the warranty length stated for this model is not the same from one retailer to another, ranging between 12 and 24 months depending on the listing, with no single explicit figure on the product page itself. By comparison, the Anker 323 clearly states 18 months on its own spec sheet.

Against the Anker 323 and other Ugreen chargers in the lineup

How does the Ugreen 52.5W stack up against its direct rival and the other power levels in its own lineup?

Technical comparison: Ugreen 52.5W against the Anker 323 and the Ugreen 36W and 60W (data from the product pages, for reference only)
CriterionUgreen 52.5WAnker 323Ugreen 36WUgreen 60W
Total power52.5W52.5W36W60W
PortsUSB-C 30W + USB-A 22.5WUSB-C 30W + USB-A 22.5W2x USB-A 18WCable USB-C + USB-C + USB-A, 30W each
ProtocolsPD, PPS, QC 3.0, SCPPD, PowerIQ 3.0, PPSQC 3.0/2.0, AFC, FCPPD 3.0, QC 3.0, PPS
Built-in cableNoNoNoYes, retractable
Stated weight2.0 oz (57.2 g)0.8 oz (23 g)1.4 oz (40 g)Not stated
Observed price$14.61$14.99$21.65$19.99

Against the Anker 323, the Ugreen 52.5W is evenly matched on power and port split, with a paper advantage on protocols thanks to explicit SCP support for the Huawei and Honor ecosystem, but a clear disadvantage on weight and on how clearly the warranty is stated, at a very similar price. Against the 36W in its own lineup, it adds a genuine modern USB-C port with Power Delivery and PPS, a decisive plus for anyone with a recent iPhone or Android device. Against the 60W, it loses the convenience of a built-in retractable cable, but keeps a simpler, more transparent power structure on paper.

Who the Ugreen 52.5W is for

This charger suits anyone wanting to equip a car with a modern USB-C port and a USB-A port for a second device, starting from their own cables and with no need to power a laptop. For a very similar price but a noticeably more compact footprint, the Anker 323 is worth a look first. For a USB-C cable always within reach, the Ugreen 60W and its retractable cable are a better fit; to power a USB-C laptop, even a light one, the 63W or the 130W in the same lineup is the way to go.

The rating in detail

Our rating
3.8/5
Actual charging current not measured
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections 3.8
Build and endurance 3.8
Cables and connectors not measured
Actually delivered power 3.8
Multi-port power sharing 4.0
Protocol compatibility 4.0
Size and technology 3.5
Format and chemistry compatibility not measured
Charging precision not measured
Display and control not measured
Ugreen Car Charger 52.5W: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Ugreen Car Charger 52.5W

Ugreen Car Charger 52.5W

$14.61 (19)

A compact 52.5W cigarette lighter charger: a 30W USB-C port and a 22.5W USB-A port, to quickly charge two devices at once in the car.

View product
Ugreen 60W Car Charger

Ugreen 60W Car Charger

See price (22)

The compact, clever cigarette-lighter charger: 60W to charge 3 devices at once, with a 27.6 in (70 cm) retractable USB-C cable always to hand in the car.

View product
Anker 323 Car Charger 52.5W

Anker 323 Car Charger 52.5W

See price (12)

Two ports at once: the Anker 323 car charger pairs a 30W USB-C port with a 22.5W USB-A port to charge a phone and a tablet at the same time.

View product

Frequently asked questions

No, no cable is included in the box. You need your own Power Delivery-compatible USB-C cable and, if needed, a quality USB-A cable to reach the stated 30W and 22.5W.

Yes. The USB-C port delivers up to 30W and the USB-A port up to 22.5W, for a combined 52.5W that adds up exactly to the sum of both maximums, with no stated slowdown between the two.

No. The USB-C port caps at 30W, not enough for most laptops, even light ones. For that use case, the Ugreen 63W (45W) or the 130W (100W) in the same lineup are a better fit.

Both share the exact same total power (52.5W) and port split (USB-C 30W, USB-A 22.5W). The Anker 323 lists a noticeably lower stated weight (0.8 oz / 23 g against 2.0 oz / 57.2 g) and a clearly stated 18-month warranty, while the Ugreen stands out for its SCP support for Huawei and Honor devices.

The 60W adds a built-in retractable USB-C cable alongside its two ports, for a slightly higher total power. This 52.5W model stays simpler, with no built-in cable, but with a power structure where the two ports add up exactly to the stated total.

Yes. The USB-C port over Power Delivery with PPS fast-charges recent iPhones with a suitable USB-C cable, and the USB-A port suits a second device or an older model.