Ugreen Nexode 300W: our full review of this GaN charger

A main port that holds between 120 and 134 W no matter how many other devices are plugged in, a combined total that never quite reaches the 300 W in its name, and a real long-term reliability concern on the ports.

Our rating
4.0/5
Safety and protections: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Safety4.2Build and endurance: 3.6 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Build3.6Actually delivered power: 4.3 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Power4.3Multi-port power sharing: 3.9 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Sharing3.9Protocol compatibility: 4.1 out of 5 (weighting 12%)Protocols4.1Size and technology: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 8%)Size3.8

How is this rating calculated?

Ugreen Nexode 300W desktop charger seen from a three-quarter angle, five ports visible on the black front panel

The essentials

The Ugreen Nexode 300W keeps the promise that matters most day to day: its USB-C1 port delivers between 120 and 134 W no matter how many other ports are active, a stability several rival chargers lack once a third or fourth device joins in and their main port collapses. Combined output, on the other hand, never exceeds about 268 W even with all five ports loaded, a real gap against the 300 W in the product name. Efficiency climbs to about 92.6% in the best case, very close to the 93% claim, but the front panel reaches around 124 °F (51 °C) after an hour at full power. The most serious concern is long-term reliability: a share of the units in circulation see a USB-C port lose power, or stop working entirely, after a few weeks to a few months of sustained use, a real flaw even though it does not affect most units sold, partly offset by a 2-year manufacturer warranty. For a desk that genuinely needs to feed several machines at once, this is a solid buy, provided you accept that lingering uncertainty over the long run.

Strengths

  • The USB-C1 port delivers between 120 and 134 W regardless of how many other ports are plugged in, a stability that is rare for this type of charger
  • Efficiency climbs to about 92.6% under full load, very close to the 93% the brand advertises
  • A 2-year manufacturer warranty, longer than the 18 months several rival GaN chargers offer
  • Broad protocol support (USB PD 3.1, PPS, Quick Charge) with no restriction found on common devices
  • 5 real ports (4 USB-C and 1 USB-A) to power up to 3 laptops at the same time
  • Standby draw close to zero, on the order of a few milliwatts

Limitations

  • Combined output plateaus around 268 W even with all five ports loaded, never the 300 W in the product name
  • A share of the units in circulation see one or more USB-C ports lose power, or stop working, after a few weeks to a few months of sustained use
  • The front panel reaches about 124 °F (51 °C) after an hour at full power, a real amount of heat under sustained heavy use
  • No screen or per-port readout: there is no way to check the exact power being delivered without an external USB-C meter
  • A bulky shape (1.85 lb (839 g), a tall desktop brick), not designed for portability
  • Efficiency drops to about 76% depending on the load, well below the 93% maximum the brand highlights
Ugreen Nexode 300W: see the full details and price →

The first GaN charger to break the 300 W mark

The Ugreen Nexode 300W is a 5-port GaN desktop charger: 4 USB-C and 1 USB-A, for an advertised total of 300 W. The USB-C1 port delivers up to 140 W over USB PD 3.1, enough to power a demanding laptop on its own while the other four ports charge phones, tablets, or a second and third laptop.

300 W
Advertised total power
5
Ports (4 USB-C + 1 USB-A)
140 W
Maximum on the USB-C1 port

Two GaN chips and a system Ugreen calls PowerDispenser share power out across the active ports. The stated goal is to replace several separate wall chargers with one central hub, aimed at a desk that genuinely needs to feed several devices at once rather than occasional travel use.

Do not confuse it with the Nexode Pro 300W, a different product with 8 ports, a smart display and app control: the unit in this review is the simple version, with no screen, controlled only by small status lights on each port.

140 W on the main port: what actually holds up

The 140 W figure is the maximum available on the USB-C1 port over USB Power Delivery 3.1, using the 240 W USB-C cable included in the box (a cable not rated for that power would cap the charge regardless of what the charger can supply). On a compatible device, that ceiling stays remarkably stable no matter how many other ports are active at the same time.

USB-C1 port power by total number of active ports
ConfigurationUSB-C1 port
2 ports active130 W
3 ports active120 W
4 ports active134 W
5 ports active132 W
USB-C1 port power by number of simultaneously active ports, compared with the 140 W maximum140 W max130 W2 ports120 W3 ports134 W4 ports132 W5 ports
USB-C1 port power by total number of active ports: the main port stays between 120 and 134 W regardless of how many other devices are plugged in.

On a recent 16-inch MacBook Pro plugged into this port alone, charging reaches about 50% in 26 minutes and 80% in 49 minutes, very close to the manufacturer's own claim (56% in 30 minutes); a full charge takes a little under two hours. On a large recent smartphone, the port starts around 27 W and reaches 50% in about 25 minutes, 80% in about 51 minutes, with a full charge in two hours.

With all five ports loaded, never more than about 268 W total

The product listing shows a simplified split across 3 active ports (140 + 100 + 60 W = 300 W). In real use, the total power available depends on the exact combination of devices plugged in and the voltage each port negotiates, but it climbs in clear steps as more ports join in, never crossing the 300 W ceiling.

Combined power output by number of active ports
ConfigurationTotal
2 ports active191 W
3 ports active218 W
4 ports active267 W
5 ports active268 W
Combined power output by number of simultaneously active ports, compared with the advertised 300 W300 W advertised191 W2 ports218 W3 ports267 W4 ports268 W5 ports
Combined power across all active ports: the total plateaus around 267 to 268 W once four or more ports are in use, short of the 300 W in the product name.
Worth nuance: even with all five ports loaded at once, the total plateaus around 268 W, about 11% under the 300 W in the product name. The USB-A port, capped at 22.5 W, and the more modest USB-C4 port account for part of that gap: available power concentrates on the first few ports rather than splitting evenly across all five.

Efficiency and heat: the GaN promise, with caveats

The two onboard GaN chips push efficiency up to about 92.6%, very close to the 93% maximum Ugreen highlights. That figure is not constant, though: depending on the load drawn, efficiency drops to about 76%, a gap that shows the difference between a marketing peak and a real-world average.

76 %
Minimum efficiency depending on load
92.6 %
Peak efficiency, close to the claim
124 °F
Front panel after 1h at 140 W (51 °C)

In everyday use, without pushing all five ports at full power continuously, the case stays noticeably cooler, under 95 °F (35 °C). It is only after an hour at 140 W continuously on the main port that the front panel reaches about 124 °F (51 °C), with the back near 122 °F (50 °C), warm to the touch but within the usual range for this kind of compact device. Standby draw, on the order of a few milliwatts, is negligible on an electricity bill.

PD 3.1, PPS, Quick Charge: broad compatibility

The Nexode 300W supports the main fast-charging protocols in use today: USB Power Delivery 3.1, PPS for fine-grained charging on Android phones, and Quick Charge. That combination covers the vast majority of USB-C laptops on the market (MacBook, Dell XPS, ThinkPad, Surface), smartphones (iPhone, Galaxy, Pixel) and tablets, with no particular restriction found on a common device.

The included braided 240 W USB-C cable covers the main port on its own; the other four ports accept any standard USB-C cable rated for their respective power. The detachable power cord also makes it easy to replace if it wears out.

The real friction point: long-term port reliability

The ThermalGuard system monitors temperature continuously and guards against short circuits, overvoltage, overload and overheating; the PowerDispenser system automatically adjusts the power sent to each port based on what the connected device needs. No safety issue is tied to this charger to date.

Worth knowing: a real concern touches a share of the units in circulation: a USB-C port can lose power, or stop working entirely, after a few weeks to a few months of sustained use. The most severe case involves a main port capped at 100 W instead of 140 W, with no warranty replacement granted. This kind of flaw does not appear to affect most units sold, but it is real and worth knowing before buying.

Against that risk, the manufacturer's contractual warranty, set at 2 years on this model, is a real safety net: it beats the 18 months several rival GaN chargers offer. Keeping your receipt and contacting customer support as soon as a port shows the first signs of weakness remains the best protection against this specific risk.

1.85 lb (839 g): a shape that owns its power

At 1.85 lb (839 g) and 4.41 x 3.70 x 2.09 in (112 x 94 x 53 mm), the Nexode 300W is a tall desktop brick built to sit on a desk rather than travel in a bag. That is the logical price of the power on offer: replacing three separate laptop chargers, often 0.66 to 0.88 lb (300 to 400 g) each at equivalent power, with a single unit under 1.87 lb (850 g) is still a net space saving on a crowded desk.

With no screen or control dial, the interface stays minimal: simple status lights show the state of each port without displaying the exact power being delivered. Checking precisely what a connected device is receiving still requires an external USB-C meter.

Against the Anker 140W GaN and the Anker Prime 250W station

Two direct points of comparison already exist in this same section of the site. Against the Anker 140W GaN (4 ports, 140 W peak on a single port), the Nexode 300W holds its power better as more ports join in: its main port stays between 120 and 134 W across 2 to 5 active ports, whereas the Anker's main port drops to 65 W once all four of its ports are in use, a far steeper proportional decline. In return, the Anker 140W GaN shows no failure recorded over more than 250 hours of use, whereas the Nexode 300W carries a real long-term reliability concern on its ports: on that specific point, the Anker stays ahead.

Against the Anker Prime 250W station (6 ports, LCD screen and dial), the Nexode 300W has the opposite advantage: its spec sheet publishes weight, dimensions and a port-by-port power breakdown, whereas Anker discloses neither the exact weight nor dimensions nor a detailed breakdown across its six ports for that station. The Nexode 300W gives up the Anker station's screen and dial, but it is markedly more transparent about what it actually delivers, a point that matters to anyone who wants to know precisely what they are buying.

Ugreen Nexode 300W against its two direct points of comparison on this site
CriterionNexode 300WAnker 140W GaNAnker Prime 250W
Advertised total power300 W140 W250 W
Ports5 (4 USB-C + USB-A)4 (USB-C)6 (USB-C + USB-A)
Control screenNoneYesLCD + dial
Weight and dimensions publishedYes (1.85 lb (839 g))Yes (≈ 0.65 lb (295 g))Not disclosed
Manufacturer warranty2 years18 monthsNot specified

Who the Nexode 300W suits, and who it does not

This charger suits a desk that genuinely needs to feed several machines at once: two or three laptops, plus a phone and a tablet, without stacking wall chargers behind the monitor. The main port's stability regardless of how many devices are plugged in is a real asset for that exact use case, and the 2-year warranty offers some reassurance over time.

It suits less well anyone after a light travel charger: 1.85 lb (839 g) and a tall brick shape have no place in a bag for occasional use. For a single laptop with no need for extra ports, a smaller and cheaper GaN charger does the job just as well. And given the real long-term concern over port reliability, it is worth testing every port as soon as it arrives and keeping your receipt.

The rating in detail

Our rating
4.0/5
Actual charging current not measured
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections 4.2
Build and endurance 3.6
Cables and connectors not measured
Actually delivered power 4.3
Multi-port power sharing 3.9
Protocol compatibility 4.1
Size and technology 3.8
Format and chemistry compatibility not measured
Charging precision not measured
Display and control not measured
Ugreen Nexode 300W: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Ugreen Nexode 300W

Ugreen Nexode 300W

See price (10)

The market's first 300W GaN charger: 5 ports to charge 3 laptops at once, a 140W main port and 2 GaN chips for up to 93% efficiency.

View product
Anker 140W GaN charger

Anker 140W GaN charger

See price (29)

140W to charge anything, even a MacBook Pro: this Anker GaN 4-port charger replaces all your adapters in a compact unit, with a real-time monitoring display.

View product
Anker Prime Station 250W

Anker Prime Station 250W

See price (17)

250W and 6 ports to charge everything at full speed: the Anker Prime station powers laptops, phones and tablets from a single unit, with a screen and control dial.

View product

Frequently asked questions

The main USB-C1 port holds between 120 and 134 W regardless of how many other ports are active, very close to its 140 W maximum. Combined output across all ports, however, never exceeds about 268 W, even with all five ports loaded, short of the 300 W in the product name.

The Nexode 300W (5 ports, no screen) is the model reviewed here. The Nexode Pro 300W is a different product, with 8 ports, a smart display and app control, for a more advanced setup but at a higher price and bulkier footprint.

Yes. With its 5 ports and up to 268 W available in total, it can power 2 to 3 laptops at good speed simultaneously, on top of a phone and a tablet on the remaining ports.

In everyday use, the case stays under 95 °F (35 °C). After an hour at 140 W continuously on the main port, the front panel reaches about 124 °F (51 °C), warm but normal for this kind of compact device, and continuously monitored by the ThermalGuard system.

The manufacturer advertises a contractual 2-year warranty on this model, longer than the industry average. A warranty claim has nonetheless been refused in at least one documented port-failure case, which makes it worth keeping your receipt and contacting customer support quickly if a problem appears.

USB Power Delivery 3.1, PPS for fine-grained charging on Android phones, and Quick Charge. That combination covers the vast majority of current USB-C laptops, phones and tablets.