Ugreen 36W Car Charger: our full review

Two USB-A ports at 18W each, no USB-C or Power Delivery: the Ugreen 36W car charger keeps things simple and cheap, while being the one model in its lineup with a clearly stated weight, size and warranty.

Our rating
3.8/5
Safety and protections: 3.8 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Safety3.8Build and endurance: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 15%)Build4.0Actually delivered power: 3.7 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Power3.7Multi-port power sharing: 4.0 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Sharing4.0Protocol compatibility: 3.5 out of 5 (weighting 12%)Protocols3.5Size and technology: 4.2 out of 5 (weighting 8%)Size4.2

How is this rating calculated?

Ugreen 36W car charger showing its two USB-A ports and blue light ring

The essentials

The Ugreen 36W is the simplest, cheapest member of the brand's cigarette-lighter charger lineup: two USB-A ports that each deliver up to 18W over Quick Charge 3.0, for 36W combined with no reported power cut when both are used together. It is also, somewhat paradoxically, the only model in its own lineup whose product page states a clear weight, size and warranty length, where the 60W and 130W stay silent on all three. The trade-off comes down to one sentence: with no USB-C port, no Power Delivery and no PPS, it cannot charge a laptop and cannot fast-charge an iPhone, since Apple does not recognize the Quick Charge protocol at all. For outfitting a car to quickly charge two Android phones or tablets, with no further ambition, it remains a safe, affordable pick.

Strengths

  • Two independent USB-A ports at 18W each (5V/3A, 9V/2A or 12V/1.5A), for 36W combined with no reported power cut when both are used together
  • The most compact and lightest charger in the whole Ugreen cigarette-lighter lineup: 2.6 x 1.2 x 1.2 in (65 x 30 x 30 mm) for 1.4 oz (40 g), barely bigger than the socket itself
  • Wide protocol support on the Android and Huawei side: Quick Charge 3.0 and 2.0, AFC, FCP, plus generic BC 1.2
  • A clearly stated 2-year manufacturer warranty, where the Ugreen 60W and 130W product pages in the same lineup give no duration at all
  • Aluminum body with the 4 standard protections (overvoltage, overcurrent, overheating, short circuit) and a light ring for finding it at night
  • The cheapest charger in the whole Ugreen cigarette-lighter lineup, for a strictly phone-and-tablet use case

Limitations

  • No USB-C port at all: no Power Delivery, no PPS, incompatible with the modern fast charging of recent USB-C smartphones
  • Quick Charge 3.0 has no effect on an iPhone, a protocol Apple does not recognize: plugging one in caps out at basic USB charging
  • Cannot power a laptop, not even a light one, for lack of a USB-C port: strictly a phone, small tablet and USB-A accessory charger
  • No independent measurement confirms that each port actually holds 18W once both are drawing power at the same time
  • The light ring stays on permanently as soon as the charger is powered, with no dedicated switch, a behavior already noted on other Ugreen cigarette-lighter chargers fitted with the same ring
Ugreen Car Charger 36W: see the full details and price →

The bare essentials, honestly specified

Next to its own siblings' retractable cable or 100W port, the Ugreen 36W plays a different card: two plain USB-A ports, no frills, at the lowest price in the brand's whole cigarette-lighter lineup. Its product page states what pricier neighboring models leave out: a clear weight, size and warranty length.

36 W
Total power
18 W
Max per USB-A port
1.4 oz
Lightest in the lineup (40 g)

18W per port over Quick Charge 3.0: the protocol's promise

Each USB-A port delivers up to 18W over Quick Charge 3.0, across the protocol's three steps (5V/3A, 9V/2A or 12V/1.5A): the chip automatically picks the step that matches the connected device. Ugreen states that a QC 3.0 compatible smartphone reaches 80% charge in 35 minutes, up to 4 times faster than a basic cigarette-lighter charger limited to 5W. Both ports share a 36W total budget that matches exactly the sum of the two individual maximums (18 + 18): unlike a charger that only holds full power on a single port used alone, the stated design does not appear to cut watts when both are drawing at once.

Worth noting: no independent measurement confirms that each port actually holds 18W once both are drawing power together; only the manufacturer's own specification states it.

Two devices at once, with no reported power cut

With two physically separate ports, the Ugreen 36W can charge the driver's phone running navigation and the passenger's phone or tablet at the same time, with neither port officially throttled by the other: the 36W total matches exactly the sum of the two 18W maximums. That is a simpler, and on paper more predictable, structure than a three-output charger from the same brand where a single port takes the lion's share of the power while the other two make do with a smaller cut.

QC 3.0, QC 2.0, AFC, FCP: wide on Android, blind to the iPhone

The auto-identification chip recognizes Quick Charge 3.0 and 2.0, plus AFC (Huawei) and FCP (Huawei/Honor), on top of the generic BC 1.2 that guarantees basic charging for any USB device. That list covers a good share of the Android devices in circulation, whether cabled directly in USB-A or through a USB-A to USB-C adapter.

The flip side of that approach: with no USB-C port, the Ugreen 36W speaks neither Power Delivery nor PPS, the two protocols behind fast charging on the most recent smartphones, iPhone included as much as high-end Android. And for the iPhone specifically, Quick Charge has no effect anyway: Apple does not recognize this Qualcomm protocol, so an iPhone plugged into this charger caps out at basic USB charging, well below what it gets from a Power Delivery charger.

The most compact charger in the whole Ugreen cigarette-lighter lineup

At 2.6 x 1.2 x 1.2 in (65 x 30 x 30 mm) for 1.4 oz (40 g), the Ugreen 36W is not just the cheapest but also the most compact and lightest in its own lineup, which runs all the way from this 36W model to a 145W charging station.

Stated footprint of Ugreen's cigarette-lighter chargers (data from the catalog's own product pages)
Data point36W63W130W
Size2.6 x 1.2 x 1.2 in (65 x 30 x 30 mm)Not stated3.0 x 1.4 x 1.4 in (76 x 36 x 36 mm)
Weight1.4 oz (40 g)Not stated1.6 oz (45 g)
Stated warranty2 yearsNot statedNot stated

On this specific point, the ranking flips compared with power output: the least powerful model in the lineup is also the one whose product page is most complete on criteria that ought to be simple to state.

4 standard protections and a stated warranty, a rarity in the lineup

The aluminum body includes the four standard protections expected on this type of accessory: overvoltage, overcurrent, overheating and short circuit. A blue light ring makes the port easier to find inside the car after dark, a detail also found on other Ugreen cigarette-lighter chargers, and one that stays lit permanently as soon as the unit is powered, with no switch to turn it off.

Ugreen states a 2-year warranty for this specific model, a duration the product pages for the Ugreen 60W and 130W in the same lineup do not give. In a market where contractual warranty length is rarely advertised, that is a rare and useful piece of information for a buyer, even though it says nothing by itself about the product's real long-term reliability.

What it cannot do: laptop charging and fast USB-C charging

The Ugreen 36W accepts a clear limit: with no USB-C port, it cannot power any laptop, not even a light one that would settle for 20 to 30W. It also misses out on Power Delivery and PPS, the protocols that let the newest smartphones and tablets reach their maximum charging speed. For those uses, the Ugreen 63W (45W USB-C port) or 130W (100W USB-C port) in the same lineup are better equipped, at a higher price.

Against the Ugreen 63W and the Anker 30W

How does the Ugreen 36W compare with other entry-level and mid-range car chargers?

Technical comparison: Ugreen 36W against the Ugreen 63W and the Anker 30W (observed prices, indicative only)
CriterionUgreen 36WUgreen 63WAnker 30W
Ports2x USB-A1x USB-C + 1x USB-A1x USB-C + 1x USB-A
Total power36W63W30W
USB-C / Power DeliveryNoYes, 45WYes, 30W
Size / weight2.6x1.2x1.2 in, 1.4 ozNot statedNot stated
Stated warranty2 yearsNot statedNot stated
Observed price≈ $21.65≈ $31.63≈ $17.60

The Ugreen 36W stays the cheapest and simplest of the three, but also the only one to state a clear weight, size and warranty. The Anker 30W, at a close price, adds a USB-C Power Delivery port that charges recent devices a little faster and accepts a cable that is not USB-A. The Ugreen 63W doubles the power and adds a 45W USB-C port able to keep a small laptop topped up, for close to double the budget. For anyone who just needs to charge two Android phones or tablets with no need for maximum speed, the 36W remains good enough, and the cheapest of the three.

Who the Ugreen 36W is for

This charger suits anyone wanting to outfit a car for charging two Android phones or tablets with no need for maximum speed, at the lowest price in the Ugreen lineup. For a USB-C port able to keep a light laptop topped up, the Ugreen 63W is better equipped; for an equally compact charger that adds a USB-C Power Delivery port, the Anker 30W is a close-priced alternative.

The rating in detail

Our rating
3.8/5
Actual charging current not measured
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections 3.8
Build and endurance 4.0
Cables and connectors not measured
Actually delivered power 3.7
Multi-port power sharing 4.0
Protocol compatibility 3.5
Size and technology 4.2
Format and chemistry compatibility not measured
Charging precision not measured
Display and control not measured
Ugreen Car Charger 36W: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Ugreen Car Charger 36W

Ugreen Car Charger 36W

$21.65 (31)

The Ugreen 36W QC 3.0 car charger fast-charges two USB-A devices at once on the road, up to 4 times faster than a basic car charger.

View product
Ugreen Car Charger 63W

Ugreen Car Charger 63W

See price (28)

A powerful 63W car charger: one 45W USB-C fast-charging port and one USB-A port, to charge two devices at once in the car, even a laptop.

View product
Anker 30W Car Charger

Anker 30W Car Charger

See price (41)

One USB-C port and one USB-A port in a tiny body: the Anker 30W car charger fast-charges two devices at once without sticking out of the 12V socket.

View product

Frequently asked questions

No. It only has two USB-A ports, with no USB-C port and no Power Delivery. For a USB-C laptop, even a light one, look at a Ugreen model with a USB-C port, such as the 63W or 130W in the same lineup.

Yes. Its two independent USB-A ports each deliver up to 18W over Quick Charge 3.0 (5V/3A, 9V/2A or 12V/1.5A), for 36W combined, with no reported power cut between the two.

It works with a USB-A to Lightning or USB-C cable depending on the iPhone model, but without any real fast charging: Apple does not recognize the Quick Charge protocol, so charging stays at a basic level, below what a Power Delivery charger would give.

The 36W is limited to two USB-A ports with no USB-C, against a 45W USB-C Power Delivery port plus a USB-A port on the 63W, which can therefore keep a small laptop topped up. In exchange, the 36W costs less and stays more compact.

Yes. It works in any standard 12V or 24V cigarette-lighter socket, found in nearly all cars, vans and RVs.

Ugreen states a 2-year warranty for this model, a duration the product pages for the 60W and 130W in the same lineup do not give.