Xtorm SolarBooster 28W: our full review

The Xtorm SolarBooster 28W adds an LCD screen and a built-in kickstand to the standard foldable USB solar panel formula, but it runs almost three times the price of the BigBlue 28W and weighs 34% more, at identical power output and an identical port ceiling.

Our rating
3.3/5
Efficiency: 3.0 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Efficiency3.0Portability and size: 3.3 out of 5 (weighting 25%)Portability3.3Weather resistance: 3.3 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Weatherproofing3.3Output ports: 3.7 out of 5 (weighting 20%)Output3.7Build and endurance: 3.3 out of 5 (weighting 10%)Build3.3

How is this rating calculated?

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W foldable solar panel unfolded across four panels, LCD screen and X 28W logo panel visible

The essentials

The SolarBooster 28W isn't a bad panel. Both ports hold their claimed 15 watts at the same time, the LCD screen is a genuinely useful touch that none of the panels Xtorm itself lines up against it offer, and the kickstand with carabiner earns its keep on the trail. The real issue is the price tag: at identical power output and an identical port ceiling, the BigBlue 28W weighs 230g less, claims fuller weatherproofing (IP44 versus IPX4), and runs at roughly a third of the SolarBooster's US price. Xtorm also never publishes a cell efficiency percentage, where BigBlue states 24%, and the hinges between the four folding panels stay pretty stiff in daily use. For anyone who genuinely wants a live amp readout or leans on the brand name, the SolarBooster still makes sense. For most other camping or overlanding needs, the BigBlue 28W covers the same ground for a lot less money.

Strengths

  • The only panel in its own comparison with a real-time LCD readout (amperage), missing from the BigBlue 28W, the Elfcam 40W, and the FlexSolar 25W
  • Built-in kickstand and carabiner, genuinely handy for angling the panel on the ground or clipping it to a backpack on the move
  • Two simultaneous ports (USB-A and USB-C) that hold 15W each (5V/3A), matching the BigBlue 28W exactly on this specific point
  • Claimed 2-year warranty, extendable to 3 years through the brand's 2+1 registration program, a year longer than the BigBlue 28W's standard coverage
  • Compact unfolded footprint (88.7 x 23.6cm, 2.3cm thick) that packs into its own included carry case

Limitations

  • The heaviest panel in its own comparison: 910g, against roughly 680g for the BigBlue 28W at identical power output (28W), a 34% difference
  • IPX4 water resistance covers splashing water only, with zero dust protection claimed, while the BigBlue 28W (IP44) covers both and the Elfcam 40W claims a higher IPX5 rating on water alone
  • No cell efficiency percentage published by the brand at all, unlike the BigBlue 28W, which states 24%: there's no way to compare the two panels on this specific point
  • The hinges between the four folding panels are pretty stiff, with the end panels tending to fold back on their own unless something holds them flat
  • Two ports total against three simultaneous outputs on the BigBlue 28W (2x USB-C, 1x USB-A), a real gap for anyone charging more than two devices at once
  • US price runs almost three times the BigBlue 28W or the Elfcam 40W, with no proven gain in power or efficiency to show for it besides the LCD screen
  • No DC or MC4 output: like nearly every USB panel in this format, it can't plug straight into a power station's dedicated solar input
Xtorm SolarBooster 28W: see the full details and price →

A Gen'24 foldable panel, four SunPower cells

The Xtorm SolarBooster 28W belongs to what the brand itself calls its "Gen'24" lineup. It's a foldable, portable solar panel with no built-in battery, built to charge a phone, tablet, GoPro, or power bank straight off the sun. It unfolds into four panels, each carrying one monocrystalline SunPower cell, for a combined rated output of 28W.

28 W
Rated power output
4
SunPower cells, one per panel
910 g
Weight folded

Unfolded, it measures roughly 88.7 x 23.6cm (about 35 x 9.3 inches) at 2.3cm thick. Two USB ports (one USB-A, one USB-C) let two devices charge at once, and a built-in LCD screen shows live amperage output. With no internal battery, this panel stores nothing: a device, or a power bank, has to stay plugged in while the panel sits in the sun for the energy to actually go anywhere.

US pricing, around $170 to $175 depending on the retailer, puts it well above foldable USB panels of comparable output already reviewed on this site, which makes a direct comparison worth doing before buying.

An efficiency rating that never gets a number

Xtorm's product copy plays up the cell technology (monocrystalline silicon, ETFE build, SunPower branding) and claims better efficiency than standard polycrystalline panels, but it never actually publishes an efficiency percentage for this model. That's a real gap next to the BigBlue 28W, whose own spec sheet states 24% cell efficiency straight out.

No independent measurement exists for this specific model, which holds true for almost every small foldable panel in this category. On panels of comparable rated output, real-world production in full sun typically lands well short of the nameplate number, and drops off hard under cloud cover or at a shallow sun angle, regardless of brand.

Worth knowing: not stating an efficiency percentage doesn't mean the SunPower cells are junk; it's a well-known brand in this space. But without that number or an independent measurement, there's no way to tell whether the SolarBooster outperforms, underperforms, or ties the BigBlue 28W on this specific point.

In practice, this panel behaves like nearly every small USB panel in its class: output depends heavily on direct sunlight, useful as a top-up over several hours, but no substitute for a wall outlet when you need a fast charge.

910 grams: the heaviest panel in its own lineup

Folded up, the SolarBooster 28W weighs 910 grams and packs into its included carry case. That's a reasonable weight for a panel putting out this much power, but it's also, quite precisely, the heaviest of the four panels Xtorm itself picks to compare against in its own marketing.

Folded weight, Xtorm SolarBooster 28W against two panels the brand itself cites for comparisonXtorm SolarBooster 28W910gElfcam 40W (claimed)≈ 700gBigBlue 28W680g
Claimed weight folded. The more powerful Elfcam 40W still comes in lighter; the BigBlue 28W, at identical rated output, weighs 230g less.

The gap is worst against the BigBlue 28W: at exactly matching rated output (28W), the difference hits 230 grams, or 34% more on the scale. Even the Elfcam 40W, despite pushing 12W more, comes in lighter according to the numbers Xtorm itself publishes in its own comparison table.

The unfolded size (88.7 x 23.6cm, 2.3cm thick) stays compact and fits the included backpack-style case just fine. But on a product whose whole pitch is portability, that extra half-pound next to the closest rival matters when you're deciding.

IPX4: covered against water, silent on dust

The SolarBooster 28W carries an IPX4 rating: it holds up against splashing water and light rain for short stretches, but the "X" standing in for the first digit means no dust or solid-particle protection is claimed for this product at all. That's not the same as zero dust protection, but it's a number the manufacturer simply doesn't give you.

Weatherproofing claimed by each brand, as cited in Xtorm's own published comparison
ProductXtorm SolarBooster 28WBigBlue 28WElfcam 40WFlexSolar 25W pocket
Claimed ratingIPX4IP44IPX5Splash-resistant (rating unspecified)
Dust protection claimedNot statedYes (level 4)Not statedNot stated

On this specific point, the SolarBooster 28W is the only one of the four panels here with zero dust protection claim: the BigBlue 28W (IP44) covers both angles, and the Elfcam 40W claims a higher rating on water alone (IPX5). None of these ratings have been independently verified in public so far; they're all manufacturer numbers.

For everyday camping or overlanding use, this stays a minor point as long as the panel isn't left out in heavy rain or set down on seriously dusty ground for hours at a stretch. Still worth knowing going in rather than finding out the hard way.

The LCD screen and kickstand: the real differentiator

This is where the SolarBooster 28W actually earns a point. Its built-in LCD screen shows live amperage output, which makes it easy to fine-tune the angle toward the sun for the best collection instead of guessing whether the panel is angled right. Xtorm itself states, in its own comparison table, that none of the three panels it stacks itself against (BigBlue 28W, Elfcam 40W, FlexSolar 25W) offer this feature.

2
Simultaneous ports (USB-A, USB-C)
15 W
Ceiling per port (5V/3A), matching the BigBlue 28W
0
DC or MC4 output

On raw connectivity, both ports (USB-A and USB-C) cap out at 15W each (5V/3A), a number that lines up exactly with the BigBlue 28W at identical panel rated output (28W). Neither one offers a DC or MC4 output: this panel can't plug directly into a power station's dedicated solar input, a limit shared by nearly every USB panel in this format.

The real difference shows up elsewhere: the BigBlue 28W offers three ports total (2x USB-C and 1x USB-A) against two on the SolarBooster. For anyone routinely charging more than two devices at once, that's a real practical gap. The SolarBooster makes up some ground with its built-in kickstand, which props it at the best angle to the sun without an improvised prop, and its carabiner, handy for clipping to a backpack on the trail: two ergonomic touches the BigBlue 28W doesn't offer.

Against the BigBlue 28W: same power, wildly different price

At exactly matching rated output (28W), the BigBlue 28W is the SolarBooster's most direct rival, and it's also a product already reviewed on this site. Lined up criterion by criterion, the comparison is fairly one-sided on several objective points.

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W against the BigBlue 28W, at exactly matching rated output
CriterionXtorm SolarBooster 28WBigBlue 28W
Rated power output28W28W
Claimed cell efficiencyNot stated24%
Folded weight910g680g
Output ports2 (USB-A, USB-C, 15W each)3 (2x USB-C, 1x USB-A, 15W each)
Control screenLCD (amperage)None
Built-in kickstand and carabinerYesNo
Claimed weatherproofingIPX4IP44
Claimed warranty2 years (3 years under 2+1)2 years
US price observed≈ $170 to $175≈ $60

The BigBlue 28W wins on weight, claimed weatherproofing, port count, and price, by a wide margin on that last one. The SolarBooster answers with a genuine LCD screen and ergonomic extras (kickstand, carabiner) the BigBlue doesn't have, plus an extra year of warranty under its 2+1 program. Even so, the price gap here, nearly three to one, is steep against what those two advantages actually deliver day to day.

A solar top-up, not a standalone power source

Like any battery-free foldable panel at this output, the SolarBooster 28W earns its keep as a top-up, not as a primary power source. With no internal storage, the energy it produces has to be used right away by whatever's plugged in, or by a power bank sitting next to it: the second the sun goes or the panel gets unplugged, output stops cold.

The hinges between the four folding panels are pretty stiff, with the end panels tending to fold back on their own unless something holds them flat once the panel is laid out on the ground. That's not a dealbreaker, but it's worth knowing about: weighing down the corners with rocks or the included straps takes care of it.

Worth knowing: neither the SolarBooster 28W nor the BigBlue 28W offers a DC or MC4 output. Neither one can power a station directly: both are limited to charging USB devices (phone, tablet, GoPro, power bank).

Used on a multi-day trip, in an overlanding rig, or at a campsite, this type of panel mostly keeps a phone or power bank topped off over several days with no outlet in sight, rather than delivering a fast charge with full self-sufficiency. The SolarBooster's LCD screen actually helps with exactly that kind of top-up use, by making it easy to find the best available sun angle.

Who the SolarBooster 28W makes sense for

Shipped with a USB-A cable and a USB-C cable, the Xtorm SolarBooster 28W suits travelers, hikers, and overlanders who genuinely value the LCD readout and the ergonomic extras (kickstand, carabiner), and who are willing to pay a lot more for those two additions.

For anyone chasing the best balance between price and available power, with no need for a live amp readout, the BigBlue 28W covers the same outdoor USB charging job for a lot less money, with one extra port and 230g less to carry. For anyone who needs more raw power, the Elfcam 40W, cited by Xtorm itself, offers 12W more for a price close to the BigBlue's.

The SolarBooster 28W stays a defensible pick for a specific kind of buyer, one who values visual charge feedback and the standing of an established outdoor-gear brand, rather than an obvious choice for most nomadic solar charging needs.

The rating in detail

Our rating
3.3/5
Efficiency 3.0
Portability and size 3.3
Weather resistance 3.3
Output ports 3.7
Capacity and expansion not measured
Solar input and MPPT not measured
Control and smart features not measured
Installation and compliance not measured
Build and endurance 3.3
Battery compatibility not measured
Safety and protections not measured
Xtorm SolarBooster 28W: see the full details and price →

The product and its alternatives

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W

Xtorm SolarBooster 28W

$173.07 (2)

The Xtorm SolarBooster 28W foldable solar panel turns sunlight into power for your phone, tablet or GoPro, wherever your next outdoor trip takes you.

View product
BigBlue 28W

BigBlue 28W

See price (48)

A panel that folds into your pack and charges three devices at once in the sun: high-efficiency cells, three USB ports, and real weather resistance.

View product
Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

Jackery SolarSaga 40W Mini

$126.22 (5)

The smallest SolarSaga: 40 W in a 2.6 lb (1.2 kg) foldable panel that slips into a backpack to feed a compact station at camp.

View product
Allpowers SP001 21W

Allpowers SP001 21W

$39.00 (3)

21W foldable and just 1.3 lb (610g): the little USB solar panel that charges a phone, tablet or power bank anywhere in the sun, with no outlet or bulk.

View product

Frequently asked questions

Not on the measurable objective criteria: at identical power output (28W), the BigBlue 28W is lighter (680g against 910g), claims fuller weatherproofing (IP44 against IPX4), and runs at roughly a third of the SolarBooster's US price. The SolarBooster answers with an LCD control screen and a built-in kickstand the BigBlue doesn't have.

No, it has no internal battery. A device or power bank has to stay plugged in while the panel is in the sun for the energy to transfer: it's not a standalone power reserve.

Yes, the USB-A and USB-C ports work at the same time, each up to 15W (5V/3A), enough to charge a phone and a power bank together, for example.

It's rated IPX4: it holds up against splashing water and light rain for short stretches, but the manufacturer claims no dust protection for this model, unlike the BigBlue 28W, which is rated IP44.

Xtorm states a 2-year warranty, extendable to 3 years through its 2+1 registration program, which typically requires registering the product online.

910 grams, for an unfolded footprint of roughly 88.7 x 23.6cm at 2.3cm thick, packed into the included carry case.